Posted by: nhfalcon | September 5, 2012

Well, This One Ought to be All Over the Place…

but, then, these usually are, aren’t they?

* – so, the NFL kicks off a new season tonight. I am, of course, PUMPED! For what it’s worth, here’s my fearless prognostication for the upcoming season:

AFC East: Pats, Bills, Jets, Dolphins

AFC North: Steelers, Ravens, Bengals, Browns

AFC South: Texans, Titans, Colts, Jags

AFC West: Broncos, Chiefs, Chargers, Raiders

AFC Playoff Seeding: Pats, Steelers, Texans, Broncos, Ravens, Bengals

AFC Champs: Steelers

NFC East: Eagles, Giants, Cowboys, Redskins

NFC North: Packers, Lions, Bears, Vikings

NFC South: Saints, Falcons, Panthers, Bucs

NFC West: 49ers, Seahawks, Cardinals, Rams

NFC Playoff Seeding: Eagles, Niners, Packers, Saints, Giants, Lions

NFC Champs: Eagles

NFL Champs: Eagles

Yes, it hurts to say my Falcons won’t even make the playoffs (I think they’ll win nine or ten games and just miss out), but the bottom line is that they stayed stagnant during the offseason, imho, while other teams improved, so…

* – my fantasy football league had its draft last Sunday night. For the first time in I don’t know how long I didn’t protect any players from the previous season and started from scratch. My roster looks like this:

QB – Eli Manning, Jay Cutler

RB – Matt Forte, Doug Martin, Frank Gore, Isaac Redman

WR – Hakeem Nicks, Miles Austin, Kenny Britt, Robert Meachem, Justin Blackmon

TE – Jimmy Graham, Tony Gonzalez

K – Garrett Hartley

D/ST – Texans, Giants

I truly don’t know how I feel about this team. I don’t see any duds, but I also don’t see any superstars, except maybe for Manning and Graham. Thoughts?

* – For the first time in over a decade I was in a wedding. Last Saturday my friends Jeremy and Mary got hitched. Congrats to them, and many thanx for the Scotch eggs! 🙂

* – so, really, is anybody surprised  I find this funny?:

🙂

* – I wish I had taken classes from this guy:

🙂

* – hmmm, maybe the Red Dawn reboot won’t be so bad after all…

* – I’m pretty sure my son felt this way when he went back to school yesterday:

One does not simply go back to school. There is evil there that does not sleep.

🙂

* – oh, I can see Little Man and I fighting over the PS2 soon…

* – now this is some pretty cool tech:

* – RIP, Neil Armstrong.

* – RIP, Steve Van Buren.

* – oh, this must drive the Libs NUTS! 🙂

* – this guy is our president, ladies and gentlemen. Take a good listen.

* – I’ll say it again, this guy is our president.

* – “nothing” has been asked of the rich in this country, Joe Biden? Seriously?

* – oh, well, we wouldn’t want you to suffer heatstroke or something, Joe (facepalm!).

* – as a follow-up to Kemtee, here’s a great Trifecta piece from Bill Whittle, Steve Green, and Scott Ott:

* – look, I’m no fan of abortion, but Rep. Todd Akin has got to be one of the dumbest mothereffers on the planet. Really, Todd? No, really?

* – remind me to never see this doctor.

* – these are “Republican” women? Really?

You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means. 🙂

* – we’re the racists.

* – yeah, us.

* – remind me not to move to Montana.

* – wow, another random act of journalism by Anderson Cooper.

* – and a random act of journalism by Wolf Blitzer!

It just hasn’t been a good time for Debbie Wasserman-Schultz lately, has it? 🙂

* – I don’t think Chris Matthews will ever be accused of committing an act of journalism.

Ever.

Thank you, Allen West (I do love that guy).

* – conservatives being environmental? No way!

* – given that I’ve been described by some people who know me (or at least have been reading here for some time) as really more libertarian than conservative, this was a worthwhile article for me to read.

* – this is why it’s easy to defend Paul Ryan

* – let’s fact-check those fact-checkers, shall we?

Exhibit A

Exhibit B

Exhibit C

* – can I please do one of these posts without having to talk about the nanny state?

* – I mean, asking a deaf boy to change the way he signs his name? C’mon!

* – nothing to worry about from Iran, folks. Nothing at all.

* – if this is how Norway treats mass murderers, I’m glad I don’t live there.


Responses

  1. Wow, this is a jam-packed episode, isn’t it? Don’t know where to focus, so I’ll focus on football. While I don’t think it could happen due to the odd being greatly, and artificially, stacked against us, the thought of Roger Goodell handing a SB trophy over to the Saints in the Superdome, and having to pretend to look happy about it, has kept me going for the past few months.


Leave a comment

Categories