Posted by: nhfalcon | February 15, 2012

Your (semi-) Daily Dose of Reality v.2.15.12

* – ladies and gentlemen, The Year in Blogs:

My faves are at 1:21, 2:40, and 5:23.

* – damn, that is one big fish!

* – Billy Connolly has joined the cast of The Hobbit.

* – speaking of which, I am going to become a very poor man come June, and I forsee Little Man and I fighting a lot. 🙂

* – Game of Thrones: Season Two is coming soon to HBO!

* – and the actress who will play Princess Di on the silver screen will be…

* – not everybody from Star Wars has aged well.

* – oh boy, I can hardly wait!

(yes, I’m being sarcastic)

* – why isn’t there a Jack-In-The-Box near me, dammit?! 🙂

* – what is it with me suddenly finding cold fusion articles lately?

* – ok, this guy’s just nuts!

* – ok, I’m as much a fan of things that create big booms! and bangs! as much as anyone, but this might be a bit over the top.

* – serves him right, the fucker.

* – RIP, Florence Green.

* – RIP, Bill Hinzman.

* – RIP, Freddie Solomon.

* – RIP, Ashley Harris.

* – don’t worry, I didn’t forget: RIP, Whitney Houston.

* – I’ve heard some, such as Rush Limbaugh, rip on this ad, but I thought it was the best one of the Super Bowl…

* – so who’s next up for the Super Bowl halftime show?

* – now here’s and interesting take on Don McLean’s “American Pie.”

* – nice piece here by Alfonzo Rachel on how conservatives need to grow a pair in regards to liberal entertainers:

* – you know, I’ve been wondering what happened to Steven Crowder…

* – so now a court is actually going to hear a case over whether or not the killer whales at Sea World are “illegal slaves.”

Seriously.

* – unfuckingbelievable.

Dear Government (whether local, state, or federal) – don’t tell me how to feed my kid. To quote Glenn Beck, “… back that ass up!”

* – first it was the email address. Then it was Attack Watch. Now its “Truth Teams.”

Seriously?

* – this is one of the better “Trifectas” in quite some time:

* – thank you, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, for standing up for the Constitution you swore to uphold and defend.

NOT!

* – I wonder if this has ever been done in any other country on the planet.

Not bad for a country viciously disrepectful of women, huh?

* – what’s Planned Parenthood all about again? Who founded it and what was her agenda?

* – I have waxed eloquent on the brilliance of Kemtee many times in the past, but she has done it yet again in regards to this mandated contraception coverage brouhaha.

* – nice guest piece here by the absent-for-far-too-long Saintseester.

* – so, um, who’s the agressor in the culture war?

* – well done, Washington Senate.

* – well said, Godfatherpolitics.

* – ladies and gentlemen, Marco Rubio:

* – well, I’ve said it before, but I guess I have to say it again: where the hell did Rick Santorum come from?

BTW, no, I did not vote in my state’s caucus last week. Why not? Because not one of these candidates thrills me. I’m pretty sure I’ve said that before. I really don’t think any of these guys is going to turn the country around if he defeats Obama in November. What I’m hopeful for is that Mitt/Newt/Rick/Ron just stops the bleeding and holds the line until a Chris Christie / Paul Ryan / Allen West / Marco Rubio / or Bobby Jindal gets elected in 2016.

That being said, anybody’s better than Obama. I’d vote for my own toe-jam over Obama at this point.

* – any way we can make Daniel Hannan an honorary American citizen?

* – um, no, Mr. President, you don’t.

* –

Pretty stark difference, huh?

* – speaking of stark differences…

* – we miss ya, Ronnie.

* – I ran my family’s income through Herman Cain’s 9-9-9 Income Tax Calculator. We’d have $10,000 more in our pockets per year under that plan. Just sayin’.

* – something tells me Obama is just a bit of a hypocrite when it comes to busting on people for being associated with Wall Street.

* – yay! Hooray! Unemployment is down again!

Or is it?

Is it just me, or has the unemployment rate become a worthless figure? Am I the only one who thinks that the unemployment rate should be based on (stick with me here, because this could take a while and might not technically be grammatically correct) a) the number of people in America who are legally old enough to work b) minus the number of people who have officially retired c) minus the number of people who are physically / mentally / emotionally incapable of working and then d) divided by the number of people not working? That it doesn’t matter whether or not you’ve given up looking for work or are “chronically unemployed”? Shouldn’t those latter categories count, too?

Maybe we should be paying more attention to the Labor Force Participation Rate.

* – Jesus, even Ben Bernanke agrees with me!

* – budget? We don’t need no steenking budget!

* – um, actually, yeah, you do, and here’s why.

* – don’t even get me started on The One’s attempt at a budget.

* – here’s an interesting roundtable discussion about that proposal.

Wait a minute – that panel was on GBTV. You know – Glenn Beck TV. He’s a conservative. He hates women. And he’s a racist, too. I mean, that’s the definition of conservative, right? Misogonystic racist? So why are there two women on that panel? And why is the head of the panel black?!

Must be sellouts…

* – even Dems are now saying if they’d known some things about Obamacare they wouldn’t have voted for it.

* – cuz it just keeps getting better every time I read about it!

* – oh, and btw, nice try blaming conservative think tanks for the individual mandate.

* – have we ever been such a dependent populace as now?

* – here’s another notch for OWS to put in it’s belt: one of its protesters strangled both of his foster parents to death.

I’m pretty sure I’ve never heard that about a Tea Party protester.

Have you?

* – ““The budget should be balanced, the Treasury should be refilled, public debt should be reduced, the arrogance of officialdom should be tempered and controlled, and the assistance to foreign lands should be curtailed lest (the country) become bankrupt. People must again learn to work, instead of living on public assistance.”

Now who do you suppose said that? Glenn Beck? Rush Limbaugh? Somebody from FoxNews?

Try Cicero. In 55 B.C. “The country” that I put in parentheses was Rome.

Apparently we haven’t learned a fucking thing in over 2,000 years.


Responses

  1. See, you don’t need my help. You kept my attention to the end. Even without the … well… you know.

    ‘Seester actually did math and made charts. All I do is run my mouth.


Leave a Reply

Categories

