Posted by: nhfalcon | August 22, 2011

J.A.R.D. v.8.22.11

* – back on the 14th Cookiemaker and I took Little Man to NH to see the Thunderbirds…

No, not them! Oy…

Yes, THOSE Thunderbirds!

I’d never seen them before. The Blue Angels, yes, many times, but never the Thunderbirds, so this was a pretty big deal for me. It was a lot of fun.

They brought some friends, too…

The A-10 Thunderbolt II, aka “the Warthog.”

The c-5 Galaxy, the largest plane in the US inventory.

The B-52 Stratofortress.

The F-16 Fighting Falcon, the plane the Thunderbirds use.

On the left, the P-51 Mustang (arguably the best fighter plane flown by any of the participants in WWII), and on the right, the F4U Corsair (the plane flown by Joe Foss and Greg Boyington, the top Marine aces of WWII).

The view out the port-side door of a KC-135 Stratotanker.

* – lingerie for girls between 4 and 12 years old?! AYFKM?!?!?!

* – well, if pedophilia isn’t a mental disorder, exactly what the fuck is it?!

* – yes, this will be me if Cookiemaker gets me on a rollercoaster when we go to Disney in October:

* – as long as I’ve been a commissioner of a fantasy football league, I’ve never had drafts like these:

🙂

* – this is some fairly funny graffiti.

* – Jaws, if it had been done by Charles Schultz:

* – I’m pretty sure we’ll never see commercials like this ever again:

* – here’s a trio of movies I’m looking forward to…

I’ll likely wait until they’re out on DVD, but still…

* – are these the greatest movie speeches of all time?

* – as much as I cannot wait until Game of Thrones comes out on DVD, I swear to you I am not guilty of this.

* – you know, I’d say I used to like Janeane Garofalo, but the fact of the matter is I never did. I never thought she was funny, talented, or worthy of what little fame she has.

And I think a LOT less of her now.

* – every so often even I wish Michelle Bachmann would just keep her mouth shut.

The Left is gonna rip you apart anyway, Michelle. Try not to give ’em any more ammo, ok? Thanx.

* – somehow I can keep coming up with great examples of why simply thowing more money at education won’t actually fix education.

* – should a teacher be fired for opposing same-sex marriage?

* – these are some of the funniest pro-gray marriage signs I have ever seen (warning: not exactly safe for work).

* – speaking of gay marriage, let’s hope my state gets it right this time.

* – hey, how are those green jobs working out, huh?

* – ya know, I’m gonna have a hard time appreciating what I’m doing for the environment and the money I’m saving on gas if my car costs me an extra $11,000.

* – even though they’re not the old Soviet Union, I’m not too fond of the idea of falling behind Russia in air superiority technology.

* – what’s that? U.S. forces may remain in Afghanistan until 2024? Oh, GOODY!!!

(if you can’t read the sarcasm in that, you just don’t know me)

* – I truly hope to some day be able to meet Bill Whittle and talk to him, even if it’s only for five minutes…

* – speaking of Bill, remember the video from him I linked to last time about what the definition of poor is here in the U.S.? Here’s an article to follow up on that theme.

* – so, first it was unemployment checks that stimulated the economy, and now it’s food stamps?! Really?

* – don’t worry, folks. Social Security is just fine. It doesn’t need to be reformed at all. The system is perfect. Just move along. Nothing to see here.

* – nice piece here by GodfatherPolitics on idiots like Matt Damon and Warren Buffett going on about the rich paying more in taxes.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: if you want to pay more in taxes, GO AHEAD! Nobody’s stopping you. You really think the IRS is going to hold its hands up in protest and say, “No, really, I couldn’t” if you do?

* – the Tax Foundation backs the Godfather up.

* – it’s about time Nancy Pelosi faced a tough crowd.

* – am I the only person worried about Ron Bloom being this close to the president?

* – it’s bad enough that Obama tried to thinly disguise a campaign swing as a “jobs tour,” but then we come to find out that not only did his bus cost $1 million +, but that it was also made in Canada.

* – nice piece here on that “jobs tour.”

* – it’s not about whether or not the president deserves to go on vacation. It’s not even necessarily about the timing (“Just you wait – when I come back from vacation, I’m gonna unveil this great, detailed plan for jobs recovery to you.” Um, you’ve been in charge for almost three years, Mr. President, and for the vast majority of that time, you had a supermajority in both houses of Congress. Why are we having to wait until after your vacation? What the fuck have you been doing all this time?!).

It’s about the disconnect and the hypocrisy.

* – it doesn’t help that the man is simply incapable of accepting any blame or responsibility for a situation that he may very well have inherited, but is now solely his, and has been for quite some time.

* – “The Congressional Black Caucus loves the president too. We’re supportive of the president, but we’re getting tired, y’all.  We’re getting tired. And so, what we want to do is, we want to give the president every opportunity to show what he can do and what he’s prepared to lead on. We want to give him every opportunity, but our people are hurting. The unemployment is unconscionable. We don’t know what the strategy is. We don’t know why on this trip that he’s in the United States now, he’s not in any black community.  We don’t know that.” – Maxine Waters

You know, Mr. President, when the black caucus is starting to get tired of your act…

* – oh, and by the way, Representative Waters – you first.

* – maybe it’s time to give Allen West a chance.

* – or how about Herman Cain?

* – I hope so!

* – “This is not an issue of credit rating. The United States can pay any debt it has, because we can always print money to do that, so there is zero probability of default.”  – Alan Greenspan, 8/7/11, on “Meet the Press”

(FACEPALM!)

* – “One of the ingredients of breaking the gridlock is having a leader, in this case a President of the United States who has the courage and the experience and the fortitude to lead. And look at this president – we can’t find him, Chris. Where is his specific, public plan on Social Security reform? Where is his specific public plan on MediCare reform and MedicAid reform? We shouldn’t have to play ‘come out, come out, wherever you are’ with the President of the United States.” – Tim Pawlenty ,8/7/11, on “FoxNews Sunday”

Almost makes me wish Pawlenty hadn’t dropped out of the race…

* – I can’t wait until 2012, can you?

* – I’m sorry, I know I’m gonna piss of a lot of the feminists in the room, with this last bit, but I just can’t help myself…

🙂

Responses

  1. That C-5 is something else, isn’t it? A simply elegant gigantic metal sculpture.

  2. You don’t do coasters? Dang, man. I’m acrophobic, claustrophobic, and prone to motion sickness and yet even *I* do coasters!

  3. This definitely makes perfect sense.


Leave a Reply

Categories

