Posted by: nhfalcon | July 8, 2011

There’s A Reason Why I Call These Posts “Just Another Random DAY” Now…

as opposed to a specific day of the week. ‘Cuz you never know when life is going to interrupt your regularly scheduled programming. Work, holidays, family, friends, etc., etc., etc…

Anyway, on with the show:

* – first, you all were aware that Peter Jackson is finally shooting The Hobbit, right? Well, how about some pics to give you an idea of how the films are going to look?

The first pic is of a younger Gandalf (as he would be. The events of The Hobbit take place 60 years prior to the events of The Lord of the Rings) and Bilbo reading (presumably) the contract offered to him by Thorin & Company. The second pic is another angle of Bilbo reading the contract with some members of Thorin & Company in the background (I say the document is “presumably” the contract because in the book Bilbo doesn’t read the contract until after the dwarves have already left Bag End). The third pic is of the brothers Dori, Nori, and Ori. The fourth pic is of the brothers Oin and Gloin (Gimli’s father).

I’m not terribly fond of Dori’s hairdo, but other than that I’m liking what I’m seeing of these films so far.

What’s that? “Films,” you ask? “Plural?” Yes, plural. Jackson is breaking the book into two films, one scheduled to be released in December of 2012, and the next the following year. He’s adding material to the films not directly addressed in the book but rather referred to in it and other Tolkien works, such as the White Council, the Necromancer, and Dol Guldur (hence the return of characters like Galadriel and Saruman – who was a good guy at that point – and the addition of characters like Radagast).

Yes, I’m a Tolkien geek. So shoot me. 🙂

* – that is a lot of calamari!

* – just when you thought it was safe to go back in the water…

* – don’t’cha just love Legos?:

🙂

* – RIP, John Mackey (the man who redefined the tight end position in the National Football League).

* – and now for the obligatory nanny-state idiocy.

* – every so often, though, one of the good guys wins a battle against the Nanny State.

* – well, looks like my state is gonna get a Mulligan on getting gay marriage right soon.

* – so, does this mean these people are heterophobes?

* – something tells me not too many women eat here…

* –

Sorry, couldn’t help myself. 🙂

* – an interesting piece on sexism in politics (and, hey, yeah – just why isn’t the mainstream crying out about in regards to Palin and Bachmann? Don’t answer that, I know the answer. The question was rhetorical).

* – so, now that Michelle Bachmann appears to be a legitimate candidate for the Republican nomination for President, the media has gone into “full speed ahead” mode in loudly pointing out every gaffe she makes. Why didn’t they do that to Obama when he was campaigning. Why don’t they do it to him now?

“What gaffes,” you ask? Oh, I don’t know… How about claiming your uncle liberated Auschwitz?

Huh. Weird. I could have sworn it was the Russians who liberated Auschwitz (January 27, 1945, by the 322nd Rifle Division, aka International Holocaust Remembrance Day)…

Or how about “the bomb” that fell on Pearl Harbor on December 7th, 1941?

“The bomb?” Just one? I’m pretty sure a lot more than just one bomb fell on Pearl Harbor that day…

* – well done, Thailand.

* – does this make Herman Cain a racist?

* – god, but that Glenn Beck is SUCH a dillbag, isn’t he?

* – for those who care, I would rate the conservative radio talk show hosts out there in this order: 1) Glenn Beck 2) Rush Limbaugh 3) Jerry Doyle 4) Lou Dobbs 5) Sean Hannity 6) Mark Levin. I know there are others out there (Dennis Miller, Neil Boortz, Rusty Humphries, Howie Carr, Michael Savage, etc…, but those six are the ones I listen to on at least a semi-regular basis).

* – so, um, what’s the problem? Mark Halperin was only calling it the way he saw it (and, quite frankly, I agree with him).

* – what a horrifying thought!

* – ohpleaseohpleaseohpleaseohplease

* – assuming you believe that the stimulus plan actually created any jobs in the first place…

* – he’s smart, he’s funny, he’s a conservative, he’s a LotR fan… you know, I think if Bill Whittle had tits on his back I’d ask him to marry me! 🙂

* – why do I love Kemtee? Let me count the ways:

One

Two

Three

Questions?

* – any chance we can get Joe Arpaio to run for President?

* – I got this email from a friend the other day and just had to share it: “Congressman Anthony Weiner just announced he will run for President and has selected Attorney General Eric Holder as his Vice Presidential running mate.

Remember to vote for the Weiner-Holder ticket in 2012!”

🙂

* – why the global warming agenda is wrong:

* – meanwhile, we’ll just let China get cheap Canadian oil.

* – good. I hope they fry the fucker.

* – good. I’m glad they put this fucker “to sleep.”

* – you wanna know why liberals are sometimes percieved as elitists? This would be why.

Fuck you, David Carr. FUCK. YOU.

And I’m sure if Mr. Carr ever saw this he would snort and laugh and point out that the best I could do for a rebuttal was a base profanity as part of a single pair of monosyllabic words.

Newsflash, Mr. Carr: that is all you are worth. Believe me, if I so chose I could easily eviscerate you intellectually with a blistering literary assault. However, quite frankly, you are not worth what little time and effort it would take. A base profanity as part of a single pair of monosyllabic words is all you are worth.

FUCK. YOU. is all you are worth.

Responses

  1. Oooo… an eviscerating happening?

    Honestly, I agree with you. Giving these pseudo-intellectuals any more free publicity for their elitist points of view is not a constructive use of your time. Or anyone’s, for that matter.

    I often wonder if these people have any real happiness in their lives, or if they expend so much energy on trying to make themselves seem bigger/better/brighter that they lose out on what makes it all worthwhile?

    In any case, I don’t have time to waste thinking about them. Which ultimately pisses them off, as all they really want is sycophantic adoration for their “intelligence” and “forward thinking.”

    (Oh, and I was on a roll. I expect my own intellectual drought to sink in any day now. YOU, on the other hand, maintain a fabulous level of consistency.)


Leave a Reply

Categories

