Posted by: nhfalcon | June 5, 2011

J.A.R.D. v.6.5.11

* – please note, if you will, that I’ve added a new page up at the top here. Next to “100 Movies” and “100 Songs” is now “Six Dozen (or so) Books.” I haven’t gone in to any detail as to why I like these books, like I did with “Movies” and “Songs,” but suffice it to say that these are the best books I’ve read so far in my lifetime.

* – keep an eye up there for a new page, as well, once I’m satisfied that it is worth publishing. It will be titled “What I Stand For,” and it will basically be an updated, if not so nearly detailed, version of the post I did a while back titled “Now If I Were President…” Coming soon to an Eyrie near you… 🙂

* – just when you thought it was safe to go back in the water

* – um, dude? Some things are more important than a foul ball, ‘kay?

Just sayin’…

* – can you say RIP to Dr. Death?

* – RIP, Clarice Taylor (she played Cliff Huxtable’s mom on The Cosby Show).

* – are these the 100 greatest threats in movie history (warning – definitely NSFW!)?:

* – are these the 25 greatest animated series in TV history (I love that #9 made the list – I loved that show!)?

* – how come the NFL can’t find this kid to do the National Anthem?:

I’d rather listen to her than Christina Aguilera.

* – you keep using that quote. I do not think it comes from where you think it comes from.

* – so the remake of Red Dawn got remade before it was even released, essentially because the movie studio was afraid of pissing off China, even though the Chinese had not yet uttered a single word of discontent about the film?

Fucking kill me.

* – this week’s “Nanny State Idiocy” entry, Part One.

* – how’s this for Nanny State idiocy?

* – ‘cuz ya’ just can’t get enough Nanny state idiocy.

* – for an administration that’s supposed to be oh-so-concerned about the environment, they’re certainly driving around in a boatload of gas-guzzling limos, aren’t they?

* – what if everything you though you knew about the dangers of fossil fuels was wrong?

* – what if your precious biodegradeable products actually contribute to global warming?

* – only in LibLand can conservatives be racist both for disliking Barack Obama and for liking Herman Cain.

* –

(I know it would take away from the Pied Piper reference, but you could easily replace the mice with sheep or lemmings, here, couldn’t you?)

* – now Time and Mark Halperin, on the other hand…

* – speaking of Herman, you certainly can’t say he’s afraid to tell it like it is, can you?

* – yes, I really, REALLY like this guy:

* – and, apparently, so does GayPatriot.

* – exactly how the hell can an Asian student be a white supremacist?

Really? No, really?!

* – um, isn’t the NAACP supposed to be for advancing colored people, not holding them back?

* – “The real Am[erican] idea is not that every man shall be on a level with every other, but that every man shall have the liberty without hindrance to be what God made him.  The office of gov[ernmen]t is not to confer happiness but to give men the opp[ortunity] to work out happiness for themselves.” Ronald Reagan (hat tip to GayPatriot for the quote)

* – are you fucking kidding me?!?!?!:

Where’s the outcry of “profiling?” Where’s the screaming of “we’re sacrificing our freedom for security?”

Minority Report, anyone?

* –

* – ah, Andrew Klavan…

* and there are those who wonder why people like me want something done about illegal immigration. Gee, I don’t know, call me crazy, but I get kind of upset when a police officer leaves behind a pregnant wife and two kids after he’s been killed by a drunk driver who’s an illegal alien who’s already been deported from the country TWICE!!!

* – that wasn’t the question, Ms. DNC Chair Wasserman Schultz. The question was, “What’s the Democrat plan? Do you have one?”

* – apparently the Dems weren’t satified with one Chuzzlewit (thank you for adding that word to my vocabulary, Dennis Miller! 🙂 ) high up in their ranks in VP Qualye – I mean, Biden. Read this article about Wasserman Schultz. She’s not exactly dispelling the dumb blonde stereotype, you know what I’m saying?

And I thought Michael Steele was bad!

* – now I certainly won’t say Sarah Palin has never stuck her foot in her mouth, but is she really that stupid, or is she just playing the Left like a drum?

* – let’s fact-check the Left’s attack on the Ryan plan, shall we?

* – and this is your answer to Paul Ryan, Libs?! THIS?!?!?!:

Oh. My. God! And you accuse us of fear-mongering?!

BWAH-HA-HA-HA-HA!!!!!!!!!

* – I know we’re viciously disrespectful towards women here in the United States, but I’m pretty sure we don’t subject female arrested protesters to “virginity tests” like they do in Egypt.

* – nor do we stone them to death for committing adultery, like they apparently do in Iran.

* – nor do we stone women to death for entering a beauty contest like they apparently do under Sharia law.

* – did you notice how all three of those examples involved Islam?

* – let the Weiner jokes fly

Don’t you just love the fact that Weiner can’t say with “certitude” whether it’s a picture of him or not? Seriously? Look, dude, it’s simple: either you’ve taken a picture of your own boner in your underpants or you haven’t. Either somebody else has taken a picture of your boner in your underpants or they haven’t. It’s a yes or no question. Stop with the 45,000 people listening to one of your speeches bullshit and just say “yes” or “no,” ok?

* – “For those saying we shouldn’t cover the Weiner story, would u feel same way if this had happened to a conservative republican? Just asking?” – CNN’s Anderson Cooper, via his Twitter account.

* – oh, and for all of you who have been hooting, “I thought the Republicans were all about job creation? Where’s their plan for job creation?!” – here you go. Happy now?

* – because, back when they were pitching the stimulus plan to us, they told us by this point unemployment would be over 8% without the plan, but under 7% with the plan:

Newsflash: unemployment is now over 9% – WITH the plan! How’d that work out for you?

Yes, Mr. President, yes, you did.

Yes, yes, it is.

* – nice to know some people in the know support fiscal sanity from our federal government.

* – ok, first? I’m amazed that there are even 77,000 federal government employees in this country in the first place. Second, I’m even more amazed that, in fact, there are more than 77,000 federal government employees, it’s just that 77,000 of them make more than their states’ governors! AYFKM?!

* – I’m all for this idea.

And it’s even an idea proposed by a Democrat!

Hey, even the sun shines on a dog’s ass some days. 🙂

* – here’s something else I’ll agree with liberals about: corporations should pay their taxes!

* – ok, look, I realize that GW and Dick Cheney are disliked by a lot of people, but to compare them to Hitler, bin Laden, and Manson? Really? That’s just a tad extreme, don’t’cha think?

* – after all that ranting, I’ll try to end on a funny note…

Responses

  1. Bugs Bunny should have placed higher than that. Just sayin’.

    Oh, and if you want decent anthem singing, watch the Stanley Cup games. The ones held in Vancouver. That’s how it’s supposed to be done, my friend.

  2. I would definitely agree, Kemtee. When I think of iconic animated shows, I think of Bugs Bunny, Tom & Jerry, Popeye, Mighty Mouse, Woody Woodpecker, The Flintstones, Animaniacs, and maybe The Superfriends. I get having The Simpsons, Family Guy, South Park, Ren & Stimpy, and Beavis & Butthead in there (though I never liked the latter two and SP got old after a while). Most of those other shows I’ve never seen.

    If I was going to pick something to represent the influence of Japanese animation, I would’ve gone with Battle of the Planets (aka Gatchaman, aka G-Force). And what about that puppett-styled sci-fi show there… Thunderbirds, I think it was called?


Leave a Reply

Categories

