Posted by: nhfalcon | January 16, 2011

J.A.R.D. v.1.16.10

* – YEESH!!! Well, that was ugly, now wasn’t it?

Oh well, it was still a very good year for my Falcons. In fact, they exceeded my expectations. I figured they’s win around 10 games and maybe get a wilcard berth, so for them to win 13 and get the #1 seed in the NFC (for all the good that did them) was a pleasant surprise. Meanwhile, I had predicted the Packers would represent the NFC in the Super Bowl.

(go here if you doubt my prognostication skills)

There’s always next year…

* – oh, btw, despite my gloomy forecast from the same blog post, I actually did win my fantasy football league this year. Who’da thunk it?

* – Bond is back, baby!

* – some Batman casting possibilities.

* – here’s  look at the new Spider-Man.

* – Dynasty on the big screen? Really?

* – are these the most anticipated films of 2011?

* – RIP, David Nelson.

* – RIP, John Dye.

* – so my son is watching the episode of Phineas and Ferb below this morning:

Did you catch the bit between 1:42 and 1:56? I thought this was a kids’ show!  

* – ok, people, now it’s official – Verizon is carrying the iPhone (available online 2/3/11 and in stores 2/10/11).

* – these are some of the most stunning photos you will ever see.

* – here’s a perfect reason why we shouldn’t let a nanny-state mentality take hold.

AYFKM?!

* – just two weeks into office and I already love my governor!

He’s not Chris Christie yet, but he’s getting there! 🙂

* – bye-bye, Mikey! Don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out!

* – damn, I’m glad I don’t live in Illinois!

* – halftime for President Obama (hopefully), brought to you by Bill Whittle:

* – stumbled across this by accident and thought it was just FREAKING HILARIOUS!!!:

🙂

* – tax hikes in Obamacare? What tax hikes in Obamacare? There are no tax hikes in Obamacare!

At least, that’s what we were told, right?

* – and now for the Tuscon Shooting portion of our show:

1) nope, those Libs never use inflammatory rhetoric, do they?

2) and I thought they were the ones telling us never to jump to conclusions and to wait until all the facts had been gathered before passing any kind of judgement?

3) at least a good-sized portion of the country isn’t falling for this b.s.

4) and, my god, what about Sarah Palin? What an idiot, huh? Using the term “blood libel” like that! I mean, come on, it’s not like the definition of the term has evolved over the years or anything…

5) turns out back in 1999 the Secret Service released a study that concluded most assassins or would-be assassins of political figures are not motivated by politics at all, but rather by a desire for notoriety.

So much for the knee-jerk conclusion that just because Giffords was a Democrat her assassin must have been a right-winger or egged on by “violent rhetoric.”

Oh, and please note that that story came not from FOXNews or the Drudge Report or The Blaze, but from NPR.

* – when it’s all said and done, it’s just a shame that we as a nation couldn’t collectively come together and simply grieve for the dead, pray for the survivors, wait for the truth to come out, and then try to learn something useful from this tragedy.

Allow me to pull a couple of quotes from this Glenn Beck piece:

“But there is something that I must say to my people, who stand on the warm threshold which leads into the palace of justice: In the process of gaining our rightful place, we must not be guilty of wrongful deeds. Let us not seek to satisfy our thirst for freedom by drinking from the cup of bitterness and hatred. We must forever conduct our struggle on the high plane of dignity and discipline. We must not allow our creative protest to degenerate into physical violence. Again and again, we must rise to the majestic heights of meeting physical force with soul force.” (Glenn is quoting Martin Luther King, Jr. here)

“I denounce violence, regardless of ideological motivation.
I denounce anyone, from the Left, the Right or middle, who believes physical violence is the answer to whatever they feel is wrong with our country.
I denounce those who wish to tear down our system and rebuild it in their own image, whatever that image may be.
I denounce those from the Left, the Right or middle, who call for riots and violence as an opportunity to bring down and reconstruct our system.
I denounce violent threats and calls for the destruction of our system – regardless of their underlying ideology – whether they come from the Hutaree Militia or Frances Fox Piven.
I hold those responsible for the violence, responsible for the violence.  I denounce those who attempt to blame political opponents for the acts of madmen.
I denounce those from the Left, the Right or middle that sees violence as a viable alternative to our long established system of change made within the constraints of our constitutional Republic.
I will stand with anyone willing to sign that pledge.  Today I make a personal choice.  I urge leaders of both sides and all walks of life to join me as all Americans joined hands on 9.12.2001.”

But I’m sure that’s just crazy talk from a conspiracy theorist who’s only saying it to make a buck (greedy capitalist pig)…

Responses

  1. I honestly did not expect the Packers to play that well last night. But, in spite of it all, it was a pretty exciting season, yeah?

    I am still amazed at the near instantaneous conclusions that AZ was a politically motivated killing spree. I can’t count the number of supposedly smart people who instantly declared this guy had to be a right-wing nut job, before there was a single shred of evidence for or against that premise. Rush not to judgment seems to be a bunch of hooey when you think you can pin it on the opposition.

  2. The Left’s bloodthirsty, baseless, and thoroughly hypocritical rush to cash in politically on the Tucson massacre is an absolutely shameful low point in American politics.

    Falcon, good call on “blood libel.” The hyperventilation over Palin’s use of that term is beyond comical.

    Would that mainstream liberalism truly embraced what Dr. King fought for.

  3. W00T! Daniel Craig!

    (Come on. We needed a little levity here.)


Leave a Reply

Categories

