Posted by: nhfalcon | January 9, 2011

J.A.R.D. v.1.9.11

* – oh, btw, a belated Happy New Year!

🙂

* – oh, btw, NFC South champs and #1 seed in the NFC playoffs, baby!

* – oh, btw, seven players in the Pro Bowl, baby (including my man-crush)!

Matt Ryan

Michael Turner

Ovie Mughelli

Roddy White

Tony Gonzalez

John Abraham

Eric Weems

* – granted, he hasn’t been convicted of anything yet, but I lose more and more respect for Brett Favre every day.

* – like I need reasons to have sex. As Mitch Robbins (Billy Crystal’s character in City Slickers) once said, “Women need a reason to have sex. Men just need a place.” 🙂

* – so, Jane Krakowski is pregnant. I know, I know – after my posting about her here, you’re a little worried. Let me assure you, however, that I am not the father! 😉

* – careful, folks, flirting has its dangers:

* – I’m sorry, Catholics (and, oh, btw, I was baptized and raised as one of you), but you need to lighten up over this Doritos ad

* – guess there won’t be a new Wonder Woman tv show, after all. 😦

* – RIP, Pete Postlethwaite.

“Who?” you may be saying to yourself right now. Trust me, once you see his picture, you’ll recognize him.

* – RIP, Bill Erwin (see Postlethwaite above).

* – RIP, Gerry Rafferty (remember “Baker Street” and “Stuck in the Middle With You”?)

* – somebody has WAY to0 much time on their hands (and has seen just a few too many Tom & Jerry cartoons)…

* – y’know, I can understand giving premium and/or free parking to the handicapped and/or the elderly, but giving it to people just because they drive hybrids?! AYFKM?!

* – we’re going to start censoring Huckleberry Finn now?! ARE YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME?!?!?!

* – “That the sole object and only legitimate end of government is to protect the citizen in the enjoyment of life, liberty, and property, and when the government assumes other functions it is usurpation and oppression.” – Alabama Constitution 1901, Article 1, Section 35

You know, you can crack jokes about Alabama and banjos and livestock being afraid all you want (“You know, there are guys in Alabama who are their own fathers.” – Dennis Miller 🙂 ), but in this particular case I think they absolutely f#*king nailed it!

* – yes, Joy, all this Constitution-loving is getting out of hand.

Oy!

* – I mean, it’s not like the Constitution is sacred or anything.

Jeez, some whackjobs even act like it’s the supreme law of the land or something!

(Kill me)

* – five things to worry about in 2011 (if you’re a Conservative).

* – great. Way to go, Republicans. Way to get to new year off to a good start.

(facepalm!)

* – “… if everyone in America was very, very pleased with his or her health insurance, and had no complaints, and had access to quality, affordable healthcare in our country, it still would have been necessary for us to pass the healthcare reform bill.” – Nancy Pelosi

Excuse me?! Just who the FUCK do you think you are?! Your job is NOT to tell us what is good for us! Your job is to do what WE tell YOU to do! You are an elected representative. That means you are in office to represent what the PEOPLE want, and if they want their healthcare left alone, then LEAVE IT THE FUCK ALONE!!!

* – so Nancy thinks it’s GW’s fault that the Dems lost the midterm election?

They just can’t help themselves, can they? Quite frankly, I’m amazed she didn’t find a way to throw Dick Cheney and Haliburton in there somewhere.

* – if only…

* – I’ve said it before, but I think it bears repeating: can we please get rid off Michael Steele?!

* – buh-bye, Bobby! Don’t let the door hit ya where the good lord split ya!

* – they watch raunchy videos in the navy?! You’re kidding me!

Fer crissakes, people, get over it! I can’t believe this guy was relieved of his command.

* – I do agree that if we’re going to cut the federal budget acroos the board to reduce the deficit then defense spending needs to take a hit, too. This article offers some pretty interesting ideas on where within the defense budget to make some reductions (I’m not really on board with the idea of raising health insurance premiums on our servicemen, though).

* – yes, the shooting in Arizona is a shocking, horrific, tragic incident. What bothers me (besides the incident itself, obviously), however, is the instant blame game that’s being played. “Gifford was the target and she’s a Democrat, so the shooter must have been one of those right-wing, tea-bagging nutjobs! I mean, look at that SarahPAC graphic that had crosshairs all over it – Gifford’s name was on that, so it’s Palin’s fault Gifford got shot!” “Oh, yeah? Well, look at the shooter’s MySpace page – he lists the Communist Manifesto as one of his favorite books. Some of his high school buddies say he was a liberal, so there!”

Here’s a thought – instead of jumping to conclusions when we really have basically no concrete information whatsoever about the shooter or his motivations, how about we let our law enforcement community and our judicial system do their jobs and then pass judgement, huh?

Here’s another thought – whether it turns out that he’s a right-winger or a left-winger, how about we place the blame where it belongs – with the shooter! It’s not Sarah Palin’s fault he pulled the trigger, and it’s not Karl Marx’s fault he pulled the trigger, ok? If you believe that, then I guess you also believe it’s Ozzy Ozbourne’s fault John McCollum shot himself in the head? It’s Judas Priest’s fault Raymond Belknap and James Vance killed themselves? The Germans who said they killed Jews during WWII only because they were following orders had a legitimate defense?

Please.

Responses

  1. Congratulations to your Falcons, man! With yesterday’s Saints loss, I’ll adopt them for the playoffs.

    As you know I am a proud and lifelong Alabamian. Our constitution is a mess with a lot of crap in it, and we badly need a constitutional convention. But, heartily agreed on that passage. That’s one of my rotating quotes/sayings on my blog, actually.

    The political/rhetorical opportunism surrounding yesterday’s massacre illustrates very well the notion that the seriousness of the charges is far more important than the proof for them. It’s sickening and completely devoid of reason, or even common sense. I have started a blog post a time or two to address it. I may ultimately do it or I may not, but I decided it’s not worth dignifying with my effort for the moment.

    At the very least, the mindless frenzy to throw this blood all over conservatism is valuable as a cautionary tale. I don’t wish to make similar mistakes when I analyze and/or criticize. An effort to make such analysis and criticism grounded and methodical is worthwhile (and I’m not going soft–if you can back it up, then let it rip!). I’m just saying that the seduction of molding the circumstances to support what you already believe can be stronger than you think. Observe the sloppy orgasmic liberals–and learn.

  2. I’ll be honest, Bo, I stole that passage of the Alabama constitution from your site. 🙂

    Oh, hey, BTW, folks, I need your help. I’m kicking around the idea of making my own calendar from one of those free websites with a “Hot Conservative Chicks” theme, and I need ideas for candidates. I’ve already come up with Alexis Garcia, Brandi Milloy, Danika Quinn, Nikki Haley, Michelle Bachmann, Sarah Palin, Dana Loesch, Kinsey Scofield, Meagyn Kelley, and Judy Miller. That leaves me two short. Any suggestions?

  3. I’m delighted. I stole it from, um…the Alabama Constitution. 🙂

    I actually kicked around a conservative babes web site idea a while back and never acted on it, so have done some linear thinking in this vein before. Carolyn Gargaro is smokin’ hot, but I haven’t seen her around in quite some time. I’m not sure she’s still an active conservative presence. Barbara Pierce Bush? Meghan Cox Gurdon? I think Peggy Noonan is very attractive, but perhaps a bit older than you’re looking for.

  4. Hey, I’m sad the Saints aren’t in it, but I am okay with it. Enjoy your team’s run.

    On the Doritos Ad, I don’t understand why Catholics have their knickers in a knit because the church depicted and the manner of serving the wine in little cups is more Protestant than Catholic for sure. That being said, I don’t want to see any commercials like that one until there’s a superbowl ad mocking Muhammed. Equal opportunity offensiveness is what I am looking for. If they are so afraid to do it to everybody, then don’t do it.

    If target practice symbols on political districts is so wrong, then why did no one scream about it when it was on the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee’s website back in February ’09 (the images are no longer on their site but there are screen grabs available) and on the Democratic Leadership Committee’s site (http://www.dlc.org/ndol_ci.cfm?contentid=253055&kaid=127&subid=171, still there for now). The critique of these images and rhetoric has to go both ways if one wishes to be taken seriously. Even during the campaign, our own president, then-candidate, said “If they bring a knife to the fight, we bring a gun.” How is that different? Talk about it, try to eliminate that sort of talk, but do it honestly.

    Another thing that bugs me, is even though it was fruitless, the swiftness with which sites like Facebook and Myspace attempted to take down information was disturbing.

    I’m just a regular chatty-cathy this afternoon!
    War Eagle!

  5. Yeah. What ‘Seester said re: the commercial.

    You’re going to wear out that f-bomb if you keep throwing it around like that… 😉

  6. The National Review online editorial is spot-on:

    http://www.nationalreview.com/articles/256698/rhetoric-and-reality-editors

    Jack Shafer’s “In Defense of Inflamed Rhetoric” is excellent as well:

    http://www.slate.com/id/2280616/

    I’m hopeful that some pensive liberal will soon pen something a little more sensible, and it’ll get some traction. The hysterical and unhinged reaction so far doesn’t advance any reasonable cause.


Leave a Reply

Categories

