Posted by: nhfalcon | September 10, 2010

Just Another Random… Friday?

(J.A.R.F.? Note to self: never use that title again! That acronym is just WAY to easy to make fun of! Anyway…)

* – stick a fork in the Red Sox, they’re done. Getting swept by the ChiSox last weekend at home was the final dagger to the heart. I guess all those injuries (Beckett, Dice-K, Pedroia, Ellsbury, Youkilis, etc., etc., etc…) were just too much to overcome.

Next year? Well, the rotation (Beckett, Lester, Bucholz, Lackey, Dice-K), if healthy and living up to expectations, is as good as any in the league. The bullpen, however, is a big question mark. I think Papelbon (he of the seven blown saves, by last count) is history, and Okajima probably is, too. I think Daniel Bard will be the new closer, and youngsters like Michael Bowden and Junichi Tazawa will be given every opportunity to carve out niches for themselves, but that’s a lot of young arms to rely on. The lineup looks iffy, too. Will Victor Martinez be back? Adrian Beltre? David Ortiz? This offseason is going to be really interesting…

* – my predictions for this upcoming NFL season:

AFC East – Jets, Pats, Dolphins, Bills

AFC North – Ravens, Steelers, Bengals, Browns

AFC South – Colts, Texans, Titans, Jaguars

AFC West – Chargers, Broncos, Raiders, Chiefs

NFC East – Cowboys, Eagles, Giants, Redskins

NFC North – Packers, Vikings, Bears, Lions

NFC South – Saints, Falcons, Panthers, Buccaneers

NFC West – 49ers, Cardinals, Seahawks, Rams

Super Bowl – Ravens over Packers

* – my fantasy football league had its draft last Sunday. I don’t feel too good about my team. I was able to protect Peyton Manning and Michael Turner from last year, and I have Roddy White as my top WR and Antonio Gates as my top TE, but after that I have big question marks, I think. Yeah, sure, my “D” is Philly, but how many points does a defense get you? Mason Crosby is my kicker. He’s on a team that scores a bunch of points, yes, but he’s not the most accurate guy in the world. My other running backs are “Beanie” Wells (who’s doubtful for Week One with an injury), Felix Jones, and Marion Barber. My other wide receivers are Percy Harvin, Jeremy Maclin, and Robert Meachem.

Something tells me I’m not repeating as league champ this year…

* – remember the comment I made about Madden 11? Turns out it’s not a bad game because it’s Madden 11 – it’s a bad game because it’s the Xbox 360 version of Madden. I traded in my copy of Madden 11 for a used copy of Madden 10 (and Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion for Cookiemaker. Yes, that’s right – my wife plays video games. How cool is that?!) and other than the updated rosters it was the exact same game! F#*k!

(oh, well. At least Cookiemaker got a game out of the deal…)

* – The Expendables is still one of the top ten movies in the country and has raked in over $94 million in America since its release.

Please tell me this is the beginning of the ’80s making a comeback. Next thing you know we’ll be hearing more hair metal on the radio, more video babes with big hair on tv, and I can bring my Miami Vice wardrobe back out into public. YES! 🙂

* – I have no love and absolutely zero respect for Whoopi Goldberg, but my condolences go out to her on the loss of her mother nonetheless.

* – please tell me this moron will lose his case. (Chili, I think this is happening roughly in your neck of the woods – any updates?)

* – why can’t we see more stories like this one…

* – instead of this one?

* – and some say we have a problem with religious freedom! 🙂

* – I wasn’t really paying attention to politics and/or economics when Milton Friedman was alive.

(pay attention to the one above in particular)

I think I missed out on a lot.

* – holy crap – there’s still stuff made in the USA?!

* – it’s been too long since I’ve advertised my man-crush for Chris Christie, hasn’t it?

I LOVE this guy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

* – another RINO bites the dust.

* – so, another one of this administration’s officials wants illegal aliens to be paid just like U.S. citizens and for America to model itself after Venezuela.

Oh, and did you like how this open, accepting, tolerant, completely un-bigoted (I think I just made up a word…) official made the blanket statement about Republicans hating Latinos? I didn’t know I hated Latinos? Did you know you hated Latinos? Huh!

* – ladies and gentlemen, I bring you the return of Thomas Paine:

* – Kemtee nails it yet again.

* – Runaway Slave. WATCH THIS!!!

* – my god, that Glenn Beck is such a hateful bigot, isn’t he? I mean, c’mon, read this.

What an Islamophobe, huh?

* – and that Bo isn’t much better. Get a load of this.

What a hatemonger, huh?

* – so, might those “death panels” be coming from ObamaCare after all?

* – ya know, when Fidel Castro tells you that communism doesn’t work, you might want to listen. Just sayin’…

* – ah, Obama – influencing people and making friends wherever he goes.

* – I did not know who Theodore Parker was. Did you?

* – hey, I can admit when I’m wrong. I’ve stated in the past that America is the most charitable country on the planet. Apparently it is not.

But at least we’re still in the top 5.

* – wow, even David Letterman is taking shots at Obama now…

Responses

  1. The ’80s could come back in full force, but Miami Vice chic will never look good.

  2. […] here if you doubt my prognostication […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

