Posted by: nhfalcon | August 1, 2010

J.A.R.M. v.8.2.10

* – remind me not to go swimming off of Cape Cod this summer.

* – Toll House chocolate chip cookies baked on a bed of Cap’n Crunch – why didn’t I think of that?

* – ahhh, ComicCon… ๐Ÿ˜‰

* –

I don’t care who you are, that’s funny right there! ๐Ÿ™‚

* – how did Steven Seagal not make this list? ๐Ÿ™‚

* – a little something for you Narnia film fans:

* – and a little something for you Harry Potter film fans:

* – slowly the dominoes fall for the Left…

* – oh, great – let’s give the Left more ammunition against Glenn Beck and Rush Limbaugh! ๐Ÿ˜‰

* – speaking of Glenn, I just recently finished reading his most recent book, the thriller The Overton Window. It’s a good read, btw. The reason I bring it up, though, is because it’s what Glenn calls “faction,” a fictional tale with may references to factual events. At the end of the book he provides a list of where he threw the facts in and where he got the facts from. Before the list, however, he says this: “As I told you at the outset, while I certainly used a lot of dramatic license, this story is loaded with truth. But facts can be easily manipulated, and that’s why we are including this section. I want you to decide for yourself exactly what is fact, what is based on fact, what is a common belief possibly based on a distorted fact, and what is complete fiction. Don’t stop at my sources; find your own. That way, you can determine where your own Overton Window should be located as we continue to debate what kind of America we want to live in.”

Does that sound like a man who is trying to squash free speech? Does that sound like a man who is trying to brainwash you? Does that sound like a man who is a whacked-out conspiracy theorist?

* – I’m currently reading 10 Books Every Conservative Must Read (Plus Four Not to Miss and One Impostor) by Benjamin Wiker, Ph. D. The first book Dr. Wiker discusses is Aristotle’s Politics. Considering our current administration, I thought this section was interesting: “A regime can be torn apart from the side of the poor. A democratic revolution occurs ‘particularly on account of the wanton behavior of the popular leaders’ who, on behalf of the poor, harass ‘those owning property’ and ‘egg on the multitude against them’ and ‘slander the wealthy in order to be in a position to confiscate their goods.’ Even more ominous, the demagogues, ‘in order to make themselves popular’ so they can get elected, assert that the will of the people is supreme over the law (or, in American political terms, that popular political projects can override the Constitution).”ย 

* – here’s another great quote, considering our current administration: “My dear prince, my poor spellbound prince, today is the day I take you to your true kingdom, away from this world of distant dreams and fantasy. Today you will join me in my world, where I will care for you, nurture you, prepare you for your true destiny. You’ll fear for nothing. You’ll want for nothing. For you will hear only what I tell you, and act only as I decree. It’s all for the best, my precious and valiant knight, for our future together, where I will reign –ย that is to say, where we will reign – victorious. Now, come, my prince, come.” – the Lady of the Green Kirtle, Focus on the Family’s audio adaptation of The Silver Chair, by C. S. Lewis.ย 

* – every time I think I couldn’t possibly love Chris Christie any more, I see something like this.

* – if we’re going to have a Disclose Act, let’s make sure it “discloses” everything.

* – like I needed more reasons to think Barney Frank was a useless old windbag

* – well, then, Senator Kerry, why didn’t you just dock your $7 million yacht in Massachusetts in the first place?

* – so, according to WikiLeaks, the U.S. has a “hit list” of bad guys we’re trying to track down and kill.

This is a bad thing?

* – holy crap – the French just grew a spine!

* – Bo comments on the Great American Melting Pot and absolutely nails it.

* – “In short, the Volt appears to be exactly the kind of green-at-all-costs car that some opponents of the bailout feared the government might order G.M. to build.” – Edward Niedermeyer (not from FoxNews or the Drudge Report or some other right-wing “nutjob” site, but from the New York Times!)

* – was the Deepwater Horizon oil spill disaster overblown? Let’s ask – no, not Rush Limbaugh, no, not Glenn Beck, no, not FoxNews, no, not the Drudge Report – let’s ask Anderson Cooper of CNN(?!).

Responses

  1. Of all the Narnia books, Voyage of the Dawn Treader was my absolute favorite. I think it will be a better movie than the other 2. After that one, don’t bother with the rest, except for maybe The Last Battle.

  2. Thank you for your plaudit, sir. I appreciate it.

    I have decided to be extremely intolerant of shame of being American.

  3. I had to read “Politics” as well as “The Republic” (Plato) for a junior year speech class. That I promptly dropped on the second class meeting. I still have the books these twenty-odd years later. I think they should be required reading.

    And umโ€ฆ don’t go swimming off Cape Cod this summer.


Leave a Reply

Categories

