Posted by: nhfalcon | July 1, 2010

ANOTHER Mid-week Meme?! Really?

Hey, what can I say? Mrs Chili has been stealing – excuse me, I mean borrowing 🙂 – some pretty good ones lately…

1. What curse word do you use the most?
“Fuck,” without question. It’s just such an all-encompassing word, especially when one takes advantage of all its various permutations.
2. Do you own an iPod?
Nope. I do own an Mp3 player, though, made by RCA, called the Lyra. I got it at a Discovery Channel Store before they went out of business.
3. What person do you talk to on the phone the most?
Cookiemaker, though that’s not saying much. I’m not much of a talker on the phone.
4. Do you still remember the first person you kissed?
Yes. Sophomore year in high school. Her name was Jean. That relationship lasted about a month. It ended because I was an asshole (imagine that! 🙂 ), though it took me a while to realize it.
5. Do you remember where you were on 11/9/01?
I do.
6. What was the last movie you watched?
In a movie theater? Cookiemaker and I tried to watch Toy Story 3 with Little Man this past Sunday, but we had a repeat of the Dinosaur Show incident – about a 1/2-hour in he got scared and we had to leave. I know, I know – how in the hell can you be scared by Toy Story 3? I wondered the same thing, but eventually Cookiemaker figured it out.

It was in 3D. Little Man had never seen a movie in 3D before, and the effects freaked him out.

He gets a movie a night before he goes to bed, though, and last night our movie was The Aristocats.
7. Has anyone ever called you lazy?
Oh, my, yes. I’m much better than I used to be, though. When I was a kid “lazy” was THE word used by my parents and teachers to describe me, and, in retrospect, they were right.
8. Do you ever take medication to help you fall asleep?
A few years back I caught pneumonia. I remember watching Super Bowl XXXVIII between the New England Patriots and the Carolina Panthers in a haze, barely able to muster any positive emotion when things were going for the Pats or any negative emotion when things were going against them. I thought I had imagined the now-infamous “Wardrobe Malfunction.” One of the things the doctor gave me for my condition was cough syrup with codeine in it.

Oh my, was THAT good stuff! Put me right to sleep. I kept using that for a while after the pneumonia went away…
9. Has anyone told you a secret this week?
Not that I’m aware of…
10. What is the first thing you notice about the opposite sex?
Honestly? It depends. Sure, sometimes it’s the rack (all right – most of the time…). But sometimes it’s the hair. Or the face. Or the ass. Or the legs. It all depends on whatever is most remarkable about that particular individual.
11. What are you looking forward to?
Football season!
12. Do you own any band t-shirts?
Not anymore, but once upon a time I had quite a collection. Back when hair metal was in, I went to a lot of concerts and had a lot of t-shirts from those concerts. Van Halen, Whitesnake, Def Leppard, Winger, Heart, Aerosmith… you name it, I likely had it.
13. What will you be doing in one hour?
Well, Little Man just picked out the old Rankin-Bass version of The Return of the King for his movie tonight, so…
14. Is anyone in love with you?
I certainly hope so! If Cookiemaker just married me for money, she’s going to be sorely disappointed! 🙂
15. Last time you cried?
When Little Man was born. And they didn’t have any tissue in the delivery room! What the hell?!
16. Are you on a desktop computer or a laptop?
Desktop.
17. Are you currently wanting any piercings or tattoos?
Every so often I contemplate getting a tattoo, but I doubt I could handle the pain. If I were to get one, it would be on my bicep, and it would be a stylized version of this:

Cookiemaker and I designed this as our family crest while we were engaged. The Latin translates to “Lover Conquers All.”
18. Would you ever date anyone covered in tattoos?
Completely covered? No. There’s a limit, in my opinion. A couple in discreet places? Sure. Cookiemaker has a Celtic knot band around her right bicep.

19. What were you doing before this?
I actually had a fairly busy day today, for a day off. I dropped Little Man off at his daycare, then submitted an application for a new job, then traded in my old cable modem for a new one, then traded in almost all my old Playstation 2 stuff at the local GamesStop, then set up my new Xbox 360, and then played Alpha Protocol on it until it was time to pick Little Man up. We stopped off at the local rec center to get him signed up for soccer, and then came home.
20. When is the last time you slept on the floor?
Hmmm… Ah, yes – after a friend’s surprise birthday party out on Cape Cod several years ago.
21. How many hours of sleep do you need to function?
I can run on five or six if I have to, but I’d rather get at least eight.


22. Do you eat breakfast daily?

Yup. At least a bowl of cereal and an english muffin. I’d like to have more for breakfast, but I have neither the time, money, or skill to make the kind of breakfasts I love to eat.

God, I really miss Jake’s (a little hole-in-the-wall diner in Mrs. Chili’s neck of the woods that made THE BEST breakfasts EVER! Sadly, it went out of business a few years ago. 😦 )…

Responses

  1. Every once in a while, I really miss Jake’s, too. They had some of the best homefries EVER.


Leave a Reply

Categories

