Posted by: nhfalcon | June 16, 2010

Mid-Week Meme

I hardly ever do these things, but Mrs. Chili came up with a really good one this past Monday (which she had boosted from Kwizgiver), so I thought I’d run with it…

1. You’re building your dream house. What’s the one thing that this house absolutely, positively MUST HAVE? (other than the obvious basics of course). Cookiemaker and I’s (“I’s”? Is that even a word? Mrs. Chili?) dream house is a log home with a medieval theme. Think something along the lines of Meduseld from Peter Jackson’s vision of The Lord of the Rings. The one thing I need in that home is a completely self-sufficient master bedroom. What does that mean? It means a master bath accessible only from the master bedroom complete with two sinks, a toilet, a jacuzzi hot tub, and shower. It means a small library with a sofa and a coffee table and bookshelves built into the wall. It means walk-in closets. It means its own home entertainment suite. It means a kitchenette area. It means sliding glass doors facing west (so we can watch the sun set from the bed) leading out to a second story deck.

It means that if Cookiemaker and I wanted to, we could spend the whole day in just that room.

2. What is your dream car? I’ve mentioned this one several times before – a Jaguar XJ220.

3. What is your favorite website that isn’t a blog? Oooh, tough one. I’m gonna run with profootballtalk.com (which I suppose is sort of blog-ish in its format, but…), a tremendous source of information on the National Football League. 

4. iPhone 4 or Droid, which do you want? That’s easy – Droid. I already own one (the Eris, the least powerful of the bunch), and I LOVE it!

5. When you’re feeling down or lonely or just generally out of sorts, what do you do to cheer yourself up? Honestly, sometimes I’ll wallow in that for a while. I don’t know why, but I do. When I want to get out of it, however, I’ll usually toss in some standup comedy. Jeff Dunham, Bill Engval, Dennis Miller, Richard Jeni, Jon Stewart, Bill Cosby, Eddie Murphy, something along those lines.

6. Tell me about something or someone that you love that most people seem to hate. Conservatism. I’ve somehow managed to have liberal parents, a liberal wife (who will insist to her dying day she’s an independent), and liberal friends. What’s up with that?

7. What do you want to be when you grow up? A writer.

8. Would you go on a reality show if given the chance? Hell, no!

9. Who was your favorite teacher when you were growing up? (Grade school, Middle School, Jr. High or High School only.) I’ve definitely had some good teachers in my time, but none that left a lasting impression on me. If I could include college I would say Joe Onosko, an Education professor at the University of New Hampshire who was my advisor and taught a couple of the classes I took while I was getting my Master’s.

10. You get one pass to do something illegal or immoral. What are you gonna do? Another tough one. There are a few people I’d like to shoot in the head (Osama bin Laden comes to mind immediately). I’ve always admired cat burglars, so if I had the proper training and equipment, maybe pull off one big B&E.

11. What were you doing 10 years ago? I was engaged, but not married. I wasn’t a parent yet. I was living in Milford, NH with Cookiemaker. I was a Customer Service Manager for Leybold Cryogenics.

12. By this time next year, I … might very well be going to Disneyland for the first time in my life.

13. Do you think the United States will elect a female President in your lifetime? Do you think this would be a good thing? Yes, I do think we’ll have a female President someday. Why not? Women are every bit as qualified as men to lead a nation (ask Margaret Thatcher). Will it be a good thing? Depends on who the woman is. If it’s Hilary Clinton or Nancy Pelosi, absolutely not. It probably wouldn’t be a good thing if it was Sarah Palin, either. I like her a hell of a lot more than Clinton or Pelosi, but not enough to believe she’d be a good President. A friend of mine once thought quite highly of Condoleeza Rice. Hmmm…

14. Which fictional TV show character would you shag anytime? C. J. Parker / Vallery Irons / Skyler Dayton

15. What is your greatest pet peeve? Clutter. I’m OCD / anal retentive. Kill me.

16. Tell me about your most recent trip of more than 100 miles? I went to St. Albans, VT, yesterday for work at my second job. Up at 3AM, met the company van at 5AM, got to St A’s at 9:30AM, finished counting the store at 3PM, got back to the parking lot at 7:30PM, got home at 8PM.

Ooof!

17. Which do you use more often, the dictionary or the thesaurus? Thesaurus. My spelling and knowledge of definitions is pretty good, but sometimes I have mind farts when I look for different words for the same thing.

18. Do you have a nickname? What is it? I’ve had several in my time. My parents and sister to this day call me Rikky. My friends when I was a kid would call me Jay-bond (I was a James Bond fan at a young age). In high school I picked up the moniker Snake (don’t ask).

19. What are you dreading at the moment? Losing my job in about three months.

20. Do you worry that others will judge you from reading some of your answers? Nope. This is who I am. Love it or leave it.

21. In two words, explain what ended your last relationship. Mutual consent.

22. What were you doing this morning at 8am? Trying to get Little Man to move his little butt so I could get to work on time.

23. Do you have any famous relatives? Not that I’m aware of. However, I am adopted, so who knows?

24. How many different beverages have you drunk today? Milk with my cereal. Coffee. Grape juice. Water.

25. What is something you are excited about? Taking Little Man to see this this coming Sunday.

26. When was the last time you spoke in front of a large group? When I was doing my teaching internship back during the 2006 – 07 school year.

27. When you looked at yourself in the mirror today, what was the first thing you thought? AHHH! Sasquatch!!!

28. What were you doing at midnight last night? Sleeping.

29. What’s a word that you say a lot? “Fucking.” As in “Are you fucking kidding me?!”

30. Who is your worst enemy? I don’t really have one. I haven’t pissed that many people off (hard to believe, I know 🙂 ). If anything, I’m usually my own worst enemy.

Responses

  1. How come she doesn’t have a belly button? Did Mattel forget to punch one in?

    • She has a belly button? She has a belly? She has a head?

      🙂

  2. Since you asked, the correct way to word your opening line is “Cookiemaker’s and my dream house…” You need possessives for both noun and pronoun, as the dream house in question would belong jointly to both of you.

    Seester, if you hadn’t said anything, I never would have noticed that she has no belly button. She must be an alien…..

    • If that’s what an alien looks like, then I’m ready to be abducted and probed and my planet taken over any time!

      🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

