Posted by: nhfalcon | May 24, 2010

J.A.R.M. v.5.24.10

(on time for the second week in a row. I’m telling ya, folks, you just can’t find this kind of quality anywhere else in the blogosphere…)

* – ONE WEEK from tomorrow, baby!

* – sometimes it’s the little things in life. Cookiemaker found this extremely simple recipe for cauliflower that I absolutely love. Just roast the cauliflower for a half-hour with lemon juice, garlic, olive oil, salt, and pepper. YUM!

* – hmm, some interesting choices coming from NBC this fall.

* – a live-action version of The Incredibles coming on tv? Interesting.

* – the 50 Most Shocking Moments in Television.

I think I’ve only seen five of these (#’s 33, 26 (both of which were heartbreaking), 20, 15, and 6 (when I was in a medication-induced haze due to pneumonia and wasn’t sure I had really seen what I had just seen)).  

* – yes, this is how far Eddie Murphy has fallen.

* – Happy Birthday, Mr. Pac-Man.

* – it’s not exactly water to wine, but it’s still pretty cool.

* – and you thought last week was bad enough! Exactly who thinks this is a good thing for eight-year-old girls to do?

* – make a mental note, ladies – don’t perform fire-eating topless. (link is mildly nsfw)

* – why do I never hear about these contests until after they’re over?

* – note to self: start drinking Smart Water! 😉

* – having lived in both of the states under discussion below, this is just too funny:

* – this is one of the best music video parodies I’ve seen in a long, LONG time!

That’s just awesome!

* – congratulations, Mr. Paul.

* – congratulations, Mr. Djou.

* – don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out, Mr. Specter!

* – that’s right, Barry, when all else fails, just go back to blaming Bush. Sure, you’ve been in office for almost a year-and-a-half now, but it’s still all G.W.’s fault, right? 

* – can we please, please, PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE stop with the pork already!

* – speaking of the financial overhaul bill, I bet most of you out there love the idea of a cap of fifty cents on ATM transactions, don’t you?

Think again. C0nsider the other side for just a moment.

* – so, wait – you want me to pay back a bonus you gave me sixteen years ago?!

Umm…. NO!

* – once upon a time, didn’t we all worry that we were going to kill off nature? Between pesticides and pollution and the ever-increasing size of the human population, weren’t we supposed to just wipe wildlife off the planet? You know what I’ve noticed as humanity has expanded – I see more and more wildlife all the time. I’ve mentioned bald eagles and ospreys and foxes before, but als barely a day goe sby that I don’t see red-tailed hawks and/or vultures. The other day a wild turkey crossed the road in front of me by a decent-sized strip mall.

Nature hasn’t been exterminated, and she never will be. She adapts, people. I quote Jeff Goldblum as Dr. Ian Malcolm in the first Jurassic Park film: “Nature finds a way.”

Yes, she does. She always has, and she always will.

* – so FEMA has a pr0blem with religious t-shirts in a disaster relief video? Really?!

* – look, I’m all for telling the other side of the story in our textbooks, but how about telling both sides?

* – this would be an example of a one-sided classroom.

* – this post was feeling a little short, so I thought I’d backslide and throw in some gratuitous semi-nudity:

Why? Because I can. :p

Responses

  1. Proof that I have watched entirely too much television especially during the 80s, I saw shocking moments # 49, 45 (which made me cry tremendously), 38, 35, 33, 28, 27, 26 (all-time most memorable shocking moment for me), 24, 23 (no I was not allowed to watch Maude when I was 9 years old, but I did sneak to the door way and peek while my dad watched. he loved maude), 20, 19, 18, 9, 8, 6, 3.

    And after all that, I never watched Dallas.

  2. A little on the Pollyana side about nature aren’t you?

    • Check out the George Carlin video in J.A.R.M. v.4.26.10. I’m with him pretty 100% on everything he says there.

  3. Sheesh. Girlfriend must have some serious back issues….

    Anywho, I can honestly say I never saw any of those “shocking” teevee moments.

    The PolitiZoid vid was fabulous. I may steal it later.

    And thank Cookiemaker for me. I will surely try the cauliflower recipe. I lurves me some veg.

    • Who says she has to get off her back, Kemtee? 😉

      • I’ll never learn, will I? 😀

  4. I didn’t hit one I’d seen until #25. Also saw #20, #14, #9, #7, and #1.

    Sheesh, I’ve only ever even heard of maybe half a dozen of the others.


Leave a Reply

Categories

