Posted by: nhfalcon | April 17, 2010

So A Guy Walks Into A Tea Party…

 It’s not a very big one. Perhaps 100 people or so, maybe?

(these pics are both of the same crowd, taken within seconds of one another, just from different angles)

The Party started about two hours before the guy arrived. He stuck around for about an hour-and-a-half, though the Party was scheduled to last for another half-hour after he left. 

Overall, he walked away from the Party a little disappointed, not because he heard things he disagreed with (this guy definitely leans to the right politically, and the Tea Party stands for a lot of right-wing principles), but because of the relatively small turnout and the apparent lack of organization to the event.

Then again, this guy’s been told on more than one occassion by more than one person he’s a tad anal-retentive, so maybe it’s just him…

Anyway, the Party was held from 3PM – 7PM in a park across the street from his state capitol’s State House. There was a different Party being held in at least two other cities in his state that day, including his state’s largest city. There had also been a Party in Boston the day before featuring Sarah Palin that many of his fellow Partiers had gone to. Perhaps all of those factors had played into the smaller turnout.

Going back to the political philosophies of most Tea Partiers, this is a picture of the logo of one of the biggest Tea Party organizations in the guy’s state:

Take a good, close look at that picture. Do you see where I’m about to go with this? No? Take your time, I’ll give you a minute…

Get it now? The Tea Partier in the picture is holding both a donkey and an elephant. We all remember what those animals symbolize, right?

(for the uninitiated, donkey = Democrat and elephant = Republican)

The point being is that for as much as the mainstream media would like to tell you that the Tea Partiers are only anti-Democrat and only anti-Obama and only anti-Liberal, we are not. We are anti-big government, regardless of which party is in control of that government. We are not blind defenders of George W. Bush. We recognize that he and many of his cronies screwed up big-time during his eight years in office.

Where were you then? many ask.

Unfortunately, we were either asleep, ignorant, or in denial. But we are awake and paying attention and trusting no one – on either side of the aisle -now, and Obama and his cronies are in office now, and that is why they are getting the vast majority of the Tea Partiers attention and anger now. Obama’s budgets are bigger than Bush’s. His government is bigger than Bush’s, and appears to be only growing.

I’ve heard many argue that we should not call our organizations “Tea Parties” because the original Tea Party was about taxation without representation, and that is not happening here in America in 2010. Our government is made up of elected officials, isn’t it? Yes it is, but are they truly representing the wishes of their respective constituencies? What were Obamacare’s polling numbers like leading up to the vote? And yet it passed anyway? And it passed because votes were obtained with things like the “Louisiana Purchase” and the “Cornhusker Kickback” and three-quarters of a million dollars to Stupak? That is representation?

Going back a step, I would also like to point out that many of our supporters in the alternative media like talk radio are also not blind adherents to the GOP party line. I actually listen to Glenn Beck, Rush Limbaugh, Jerry Doyle, Lou Dobbs, Sean Hannity, and Mark Levin. Limbaugh, Hannity, and Levin rarely – if ever – criticize Bush. Beck, Doyle, and Dobbs, however, routinely point out mistakes he made, mistakes other Republicans have made, and mistakes that current Republicans are making. For them – and for us – it’s not about the party, it’s about the individual. If the individual is decent, honest, and his doing his or her job because he or she want to serve his or her country and fellow countrymen, then we like them. If the individual is corrupt, however, and is only doing his or her job because he or she wants power and wealth, then as far as we are concerned that individual needs to GO!!!

As long as I’m talking about judging people as individuals, allow me to take this opportunity to dispel another myth about Tea Partiers: we are not bigots. I was at this Party for roughly 90 minutes. I did not see or hear one single example of racism, sexism, religious intolerance, or homophobia. In fact, I only heard a single profanity the entire time I was there. Were the vast majority of attendees white? Yes, they were. This Party was being held in northern New England, folks. North of Mrs Chili. Check your demographics – this is pretty white bread country, all right? What were you expecting – the ability to recast Good Times a dozen times over?

I did find this guy, though:

That sums it up pretty well, don’t you think?

And notice that this gentleman doesn’t exactly have a pale complexion, know what I’m saying?

The MSM would also have you believe that we are frothing, raging, violent hicks. I neither saw nor heard any evidence of that. Again, I heard one profanity the entire time I was there. I rarely heard a raised voice. I never saw any violence or even indications that violence was about to ensue. When I arrived I saw two police officers standing at the back of the crowd observing the event. About a half an hour later they had left to be replaced by a single different officer. Perhaps another half-hour later that policeman was replaced by yet another single officer. At no point did any of these officers have to do anything more than stand around, observe, and occassionally chat amiably with passersby.

When it was all said and done, as I mentioned above, my only diappointment with the event was its relatively small size and it’s apparent lack of organization. I understand that a lack of structure is something the Tea Party movement in general actually kind of prides itself on, but I think this state’s Parties can do a better job of a) clearly defining their message b) getting that message out to a larger number of people, and c) giving people a better idea of what to expect when they attend any future events.

Hmmm… I saw a couple of people I know at this event who are actually involved with one of the Parties. Perhaps it’s time I talk to them and see how I can get involved and help out…

Responses

  1. Dude, I’m delighted you went. It’s viscerally participatory, is it not? As you discovered, no flak jackets and gas masks necessary. After all, you weren’t wading into a bunch of radical left-wing nuts. 🙂 I loved being at mine last year. Wish I could have gone this year.

    Don’t let the size get you down. Besides the other factors you named, your geography has a lot to do with that. We had 2,500 at ours

    http://topics.al.com/tag/huntsville%20tea%20party/photos.html

    and nearly that many last year.

    I hear you on Bush’s mistakes. It’s not hard to find me criticizing him on my blog. Anyone who actually utters “when someone hurts, government has to move” has a healthy streak of statism in him.

    But degree matters. Don’t let people get away with equivocation. The Bush administration added $3 trillion to the public debt in eight years. The Obama regime will add slightly more than that by the end of the current fiscal year (so, over a period of 20 months).

    (Naturally, there’s also the potentially incalculable damage of Mr. Obama throwing gasoline on the flames of a culture of entitlement.)

    Good report. Enjoyed it.

  2. The sign sums it up perfectly; these people are not racist, not homophobic, and not really even ANTI-TAX. I like having the great infrastructure and research my tax dollars pay for. I do not like how our finances are being run into the ground for the future to deal with. Look at states like California who are so far into debt their governments are going to collapse. They seem to expect the rest of the country to bail them out. Do we want that to happen to the entire country?

    I also do not like how today’s rhetoric vilifies private industry as being greedy and selfish. When was the last time a company that did not make money gave anyone a job?

    Here’s a good video with a (gasp) black tea party speaker (he starts about 1 minute in) and drives home the point that this is NOT about Obama’s race.

  3. Oops:

  4. I was more into the Tea Party movement when it started and was a libertarian thing. Once it got co-opted by the GOP as a way to help get more of their people elected, who are part of the problem, I lost interest. It will be interesting to see what next year’s looks like after the election this year.

  5. Saintseester gave you the link to my local Tea Party’s highlight reel. I only wish I could have been there to listen in person. But I was … er… working.

    You were right to go, you are right to get more deeply involved. And I’m right there with you. I don’t care what the MSM says. I don’t care how they want to label me. I know the truth.


Leave a Reply

Categories

