Posted by: nhfalcon | March 29, 2010

J.A.R.M. v.3.29.10

* – note to self: go to Vienna someday, if for no other reason than the sausage.

* – meet the man who will play Captain America in the upcoming movie (you’ve met him before. In other movies also featuring Marvel comics characters, no less).

* – speaking of the new Cap, Marvel is really banking on all the Avenger-related films to take off.

* – granted, I find this a little discriminatory, but can I volunteer to check the, ah, “authenticity” of the women auditioning for PotC IV? 🙂

* – saw The Blind Side on DVD the other night with Cookiemaker. Good movie. I don’t know that (imho) it deserved all the Oscar buzz, but I would recommend it.

* – saw How To Train Your Dragon earlier today with Cookiemaker and Little Man. DEFINITELY recommended!

* – finally! Scientific proof that guys are the way we are not because we enjoy pissing women off, but because we’re biologically programmed that way! That’s how our brain works, ladies. We’re gonna look at other women. We’re gonna want to solve your problems, not just listen to them. We’re gonna become either cuddly grampas or grumpy old men. Deal with it.

And please note that it’s a woman who wrote the article!

* – you know, I’ve pretty much taken it for granted for a long, long time that Led Zeppelin will never truly get back together (you know – go on an extended tour and/or make another album), but I’m always disappointed whenever I get confirmation.

* – why in the name of all that’s good and holy would a person eat something that’s hot enough to be weaponized?!

* – what?!? ACORN’s going under?

Gee, imagine my dismay…

NOT!!!

* – check this guy out:

Fourteen years old, ladies and gentlemen. Fourteen years old!

I’m reading his book right now. So far, so good.

* – oh, speaking of books, according to the Borders, “Courage and C0nsequence” by Karl Rove is the #2 hardcover nonfiction book in the country, “No Apology” by Mitt Romney is #7, and “A Patriot’s History of the United States” by Larry Schweikart (which I own and will be reading next after I finish “Defining Conservatism”) is the #8 paperback nonfiction book in the country.

Yep, we conservatives are the fringe, aren’t we?

* – the current state of health care – state-by-state.

* – look, I’m not happy about the passage of Obamacare, either, but this is unacceptable.

* – so is this.

* – not that the left can’t get a little rowdy up in the Great White North, eh?

* – why am I not happy about the passage of Obamacare? First of all, if you have to ask that question, either you’re new here or you just haven’t been paying attention, but – just because I’m a nice guy – I’ll humor you a bit… how about because we’ll lose at least 20 freedoms because of it (that’s right – 20. That’s not a typo. Count ’em), for starters.

* – and I’m not the only one who isn’t happy.

* – and it’s not like we haven’t been telling Obama and Congress that we don’t want it for a while now.

* – don’t worry, though, we’ll learn to like it.

* – not that The One really cares about approval ratings.

* – but, hey – if it’s got the approval of Fidel Castro, it can’t be all bad, can it?

* – oooh! As part of his Obamacare Victory Tour, Barry’s gonna come visit my state on Thursday!

Guess what Thursday is?

April Fool’s Day!

The timing is just too perfect. I can see it now: The Messiah standing before his adoring crowd, caught in a rare moment of his vaunted transparency, telling them…

“Remember when I told you you’d be able to keep your doctor and your insurance company?

APRIL FOOL’S!

Remember when I told you your premiums wouldn’t go up?

APRIL FOOL’S!

Remember when I told you this legislation would be deficit neutral?

APRIL FOOL’S!”

* – I know, I know… I’m just another heartless old white guy. We Republicans are always playing party politics when it comes to social legislation.

Or are we… ?

* – it’s ok, though. I’m sure this administration’s policies would never lead to economic disaster like – oh, I don’t know – our debt equalling 90% of our GDP.

* – or that their ultimate goal is to control the people.

* – I mean, I’m sure we don’t have to worry about losing doctors now that Obamacare has passed…

“Nearly one-third of physicians in the U.S. could leave the medical profession after Obama’s healthcare reform plan becomes law, according to a survey published in The New England Journal of Medicine.

In the survey, 29.2 percent of practicing physicians said they would quit practicing medicine or retire early if faced with the healthcare reform.

“What many people may not realize is that health reform could impact physician supply in such a way that the quality of healthcare could suffer,” said Jim Stone, a managing partner with The Medicus Firm, a national physician search company that conducted the survey.

But just 3.6 percent of those polled said they prefer the status quo and feel the healthcare system does not need an overhaul.

“Allow me to emphasize that 96 percent of the physicians surveyed in our report are in favor of health reform, in some form or fashion,” Andrea Santiago, a spokeswomen for The Medicus Firm, told CNSNews. “To me, the fact that so many physicians surveyed want health reform, but relatively few are in favor of the current legislation, was one of the most significant, telling results.”

Other findings of the survey include:

  • 28.7 percent of physicians favor a public option.
  • 46.3 percent of primary care physicians family medicine and internal medicine feel that health reform will either force them out of medicine or make them want to leave medicine.
  • 36 percent of physicians would not recommend medicine as a career.

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, there were 661,400 physicians and surgeons in the U.S. in 2008.”

(the above is from an email I received from Newsmax)

* – to further emphasize the gist of the above article, here in Maine, according to yesterday’s Maine Sunday Telegram, there’s going to be an additional 140,000 people looking to go see the doctor now. The problem? The state’s already short of doctors.

Yep, efficiency is going to increase and waiting times are going to decrease, aren’t they?

And, given all the new bureaucracy and mandates and limitations Obamacare puts on doctors, how many people do you think are going to want to become doctors now?

* – like I needed more confirmation that Al Sharpton is a whackjob.

* – really? We’re gonna start taxing tanning booths now? REALLY?!

“Well, Falcon, it’s proven that tanning booths increase risk of skin cancer. If we have fewer sick people, healthcare costs go down. It’s for the greater good, after all…”

Uh-huh. Yeah. It’s also proven that getting a tan from the sun increases skin cancer, so are ya gonna tax me every fucking time I step outside on a sunny day?! Or are ya gonna give me a tax credit if I buy a certain amount of sun-block (so long as I buy it from a government-approved company, of course)?

Un-fucking-real…

Responses

  1. Duh. Of course you’re genetically programmed that way. There’s a lot of us that never lost sight of the fact that Man and Woman are different critters, no matter what the moonbat feminists wanted us to believe. Sheesh.

    Just give me back the remote control and no one gets hurt.

    I always have to shake my head at the level of violence always perpetrated by the left, and the subsequent pass it gets. But let someone on the right get a little testy, and it’s always, “ooo, calm down now…” Yes, I realize more of us are armed, but….

  2. Rick n Bubba (radio show guys) refer to the tanning booth tax as the Cracker Tax. Makes me laugh every time.

  3. Thanks for your visits to my new blog. The olive branch was indeed for you.

    I’m weary of political crap, really weary. When I read you blog, I’ll just pretty much skip that stuff, if that’s okay. Not out of disagreement, but because it just isn’t relevant to me.

    If you feel like it, go click the link I added to my blog post about bow fishing. Talk about synchronicity!

  4. As for the tanning crap, don’t get me started.

    You may or may not recall my prior screeds about this. I despise the way the whole sun exposure/skin cancer thing is played in the press (and seized upon by sunscreen makers).

    I diligently do layman’s research to see what I can find about sun exposure (incl. tanning beds) causing malignant melanoma. I find nada. NADA!

    Nevertheless, the press does these stories saying:
    1. Skin cancer can kill you.
    2. Too much sun/UV you are more likely to get skin cancer.
    3. Take care to cover up, use sunscreen, etc.

    What’s missing? They cleverly imply sun exposure can kill you without saying so.

    Truth is, this type of illogical discourse dominates our world.

  5. As for Led Zep, the only song that gets me going is one of their early ones: Good Times Bad Times.

    I heard a Vegas cover band do a good job of it last week.


Leave a Reply

Categories

