Posted by: nhfalcon | September 14, 2009

Just Another Random Monday v.9.14.09

* – did we even have a summer here in New England? I think something like 25 out of the 30 days in June were rainy. July was better, but not demonstrably so. We did have a little stretch of hot and humid in August, but that was pretty much it.

As if that wasn’t bad enough, on the drive home from visiting the Chilis Sunday afternoon, I heard a weather report say some areas of Maine might see patchy frost one night this week!

* – the upside is: IT’S FOOTBALL SEASON, BABY!!!

My Falcons won their first game of the season, 19 – 7. Tony Gonzalez is looking like a good addition, and the defense got four sacks and forced four turnovers. So far, so good.

For what it’s worth, here’s how I see this season panning out:

AFC East – Patriots, Dolphins, Bills, Jets

AFC North – Steelers, Ravens, Bengals, Browns

AFC South – Colts, Titans, Jaguars, Texans

AFC West – Chargers, Broncos, Chiefs, Raiders

NFC East – Giants, Eagles, Cowboys, Redskins

NFC North – Vikings, Packers, Bears, Lions

NFC South – Panthers, Falcons, Saints, Buccaneers

NFC West – Cardinals, Seahawks, 49ers, Rams

Super Bowl – Patriots over Giants

* – I think John Boorman’s 1981 movie Excalibur is the best film ever made based on the King Arthur legend.

Given that, I’m a little uneasy about the idea of somebody remaking it.

* – looks like Disney’s gonna bring a new Winnie the Pooh movie to the big screen.

* – ok, so, you’re a fat-ass. Not just any fat-ass – a 340 pound fat-ass. You get hurt at work. To the point where you need back surgery to alleviate the pain. Your employer immediately steps up to the plate and covers your operation. However, the doctors recommend that you have weight-loss surgery first, because by being such a fat-ass you may actually cause the pain-reducing surgery to be unsuccessful at reducing the pain caused by the injury. You expect your employer to cover that, too. Your employer says, “Uh, no. It’s not our fault you were a fat-ass before you got injured.”

(Have I mentioned you’re a fat-ass? I have? Good. Just checking.)

Then the lawyers step in and actually rule that, yes, in fact, your employer does have to pay for your anti-fat-ass surgery.

You think I’m making that up, don’t you?

‘Fraid not.

* – whoopsie!

fail-owned-classic-lit-fail

 

* – for those of you who thought people suspicious of President Obama’s address to schoolchildren last week were paranoid whackjobs, I would like to remind you that when George H. W. Bush made a similar address Democrat politicians held hearings and launched investigations over it!

* – in the interest of full disclosure and fairness, while I did not watch it, I did read the text of the 9/8/09 address, and I found it to be pretty harmless.

* – OY! Why can’t these politicians  – again, to be fair, this one’s a Republican – keep their dicks in their pants when their wife isn’t around?

I mean, look, I enjoy spanking my partner as much as the next guy, but…

Sorry, was that TMI? 🙂

* – yes, South Carolina politician Joe Wilson (R) was out of line to shout “You lie!” at President Obama during The One’s health care speech last Wednesday night (was Wilson wrong? Well…).

He apologized.

The White House accepted the apology.

Move on.

Oh, no. The Dems have to keep on hammering him about disrespecting the office, setting a poor example, acting like a schoolboy…

As if they’ve never done anything like that before themselves.

* – at least Joe has stood his ground and said, after apologizing to the White House, that he will not apologize again.

* – speaking of that health care address, if you ever want to get really hammered, go back and watch it again while playing the “Health Care Speech Drinking Game.”

* – speaking of that health care address, Kemtee over at Drive-by Thinking (“Random Whizzdom” – I love that! 🙂 ) has a review that absolutely NAILED it!

* – so help me, I’m going to cold-cock the next silly son-of-a-bitch who insists that a) the Republicans don’t want to fix health care at all, and/or b) even if they do, they’re not offering any solutions.

You want Republican solutions to health care?

Here.

That’s nine possible solutions. Count ’em. Read ’em.

Then shut up.

* – during the campaign Obama said “Judge me by the people with whom I surround myself.” People like Van Jones, Cass Sunstein, and Ezekiel Emanuel have already been discussed in many circles.

Don’t forget ACORN. Yes, this organization has endorsed Republicans in the past. However, it’s most recently been associated with the president. ACORN endorsed him. He hired them for $800,000 to campaign for him during the primary season. He was one of their attorneys when they were dealing with a lawsuit in 1995. They have been accused of voter fraud to help Obama get elected to the White House.

Most recently, this organization, which has done so much for Obama, has been advising people on how to buy houses so they can bring in illegal aliens to be prostitutes and cheat on their taxes while they’re at it.

Judge him by the company he keeps, indeed.

* – there was a massive outcry when abortion doctor George Tiller was murdered, and rightfully so.

I just wonder if there will be a similar outcry over the murder of Jim Pouillon, an anti-abortion activist.

Responses

  1. I agree, 100%, with your assessment of our sucky summer. All I can say is that winter had better not be too much of a bitch this year…

    This is the first place I’ve heard of Pouillon’s murder. I’ll keep my eye out for other references, but I think you’re right in your assumption that this won’t get nearly as much airtime. Granted, the article doesn’t make it sound as though Poullion was killed BECAUSE he was an anti-abortion protester (the article said that the shooter disliked Pouillion’s tactics, but also said that he held grudges against several people; there may be more than Pouillion’s activism that made him a target). Still, I’m not okay with any of it; this is the USA; we’re allowed (if not encouraged) to speak our opinions and demonstrate for what we believe in. We should be able to do that without the fear or threat of violence.

  2. Rock on, Mrs. Chili!

    Agree (eleventybillion) with the football pics. I didn’t see anything yesterday that counters that, though it was nice to see the Colts win one for mama….

    And as I ponder someone ruining Excalibur (which I first saw in a Paris theater complete with English subtitles as a 15-year old), I think I’ll liberate the bottle of Finlandia from the freezer and ponder the health care debate some more!

  3. I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean


Leave a Reply

Categories

