Posted by: nhfalcon | September 7, 2009

Just Another Random Monday v.9.7.09

* – oh, good! Cuz, ya’ know, I didn’t get enough of her back in the ’80s.

* – ok, a Bad Boys III is something I’d look forward to. But a Rambo V?!

* – I am anything but a prude, but even I have an issue with a children’s doll that pole dances!

* – wanna go to a museum for free on September 26th?

* – oh, GREAT! I really can’t wait for winter now!

* – well, this ices it. I’ll never bother to try to pick up golf now (check the third pic in the slideshow)!

* – so, the most American car in the world is a Honda?!

* – unfortunately, Van Halen really isn’t relevant anymore, so this isn’t as disappointing to me as it would’ve been 10 – 15 years ago.

* – if you love the iPhone, but aren’t too fond of AT&T, relief may soon be on the way

* – the state of Maine passed a law legalizing gay marriage a while back. There was, as you might imagine, a significant protest from the anti-gay marriage crowd. To my chagrin, they have managed to gather enough signatures on a petition to force the issue to a vote. In November, there will be a referendum question on the ballot asking whether or not the law should be repealed.

Stay tuned…

* – “Cuz he’s free / free fallin’…”

* – and his bizzaro-Quayle isn’t helping him any.

* – first it was asking you to email the White House if you heard or saw anything “suspicious.” Now it’s permanently archiving any comments left on the White House FaceBook, MySpace, and YouTube sites.

Look me in the eyes and tell me with a straight face that if Bush had done this there would not have been a massive outcry.

And where is that outcry now?

* – c’mon, people, let’s just relax over this health care thing, huh? I mean, how could the government possible get health care wrong? Seriously now, it’s not like they’d do something stupid like pay four times as much for a wheelchair as the suppliers’ cost.

What? They’re doing that already?

Oh. Umm…

* – still think “death panels (yes, I know I said I disliked that term, but it’s what everybody is familiar with now, so…)” aren’t a possibility? Ask a Brit.

* – you GO, girl!:

* – this is one of the best pieces PajamasTV has done to date.

* – glad to see our elected officials are paying attention while they’re on the job (I’d love to know who the two solitaire players are).

* – remember how Obama pledged to have all this bipartisanship during his time in office? Well, then, why is he surrounding himself with people like this guy?

Doesn’t get much more partisan than that, does it?

UPDATE!!!: the czar in question just resigned. Funny how his reasons for stepping down kinda sound similar to Palin’s, huh? Wonder those reasons will get the same ridicule from the press that Palin’s did…

* – anybody got $25,000 I can borrow? 🙂

* – for the most part, I like the sentiments being made here:

For the most part.

However, the bit at 2:45 in about the “obnoxious car” rankled me. If you find your car to be obnoxious and think a hybrid is a better option, then you go on with your bad self. Don’t try to make me feel like a tool because I happen to disagree with you and your little pledge. I don’t know who that guy was, but I’m willing to bet he hasn’t bought that hybrid yet.

The bit that started about 3:04 in regarding slavery confused me. Um, we abolished slavery in this country, didn’t we? About 150 or so years ago, right? Are they talking about the slavery that exists elsewhere in the world? If so, great. If not, wtf?

The bits about 3:18 in with Anthony Kiedis (the lead singer of the Red Hot Chili Peppers, for those of you who didn’t know) and 3:55 in with Demi Moore scared me. You pledge to serve Barack Obama?! Seriously?! Hey, newsflash kiddies – the American people do not serve their president! HE SERVES THEM!!!

The end just creeped me out. All those people reciting their pledge in unison like automatons as they dissolved in to Obama’s face… As I’ve said before, I don’t think the man is even remotely like Hitler, but…

Also, exactly what prevented these people from making these pledges prior to Obama being elected?

* – I want to hear Obama’s address to our schoolchildren before I pass judgement. If all he’s going to do is encourage our kids to stay in school, work hard, graduate, and use their education to make something of themselves later in life, then I don’t have a problem with it. Reagan made a speech, too. So did G.W. However (I use that word a lot in regards to Obama, don’t I? 🙂 ), if he uses this speech as a way to promote his ideals, policies, and opinions, THEN I’m gonna have a problem with it.

For those of you who don’t understand why some people are really worked up about this coming Tuesday, Kemtee over at Drive-by Thinking linked to a great article that explains where they’re coming from.

(Did you catch that second paragraph? “…an outrageous situation unfolding in New Hampshire, where a home-schooling mother has been ordered to put her daughter in public school because the daughter is too outspoken in her Christian beliefs…” Are you f#*king kidding me?! What happened to freedom of religion? Separation of church and state?!)

* – read Common Sense by Glenn Beck.

That’s it. That’s all I’m saying. I’m not putting any conditions down. I’m not saying read it with an open mind. I’m not saying clear your head of any preconceptions you may have about Beck first. Just read it. You may disagree with some of it. You may disagree with most of it. You may disagree with all of it. But just give it a chance first.

“Well, Falcon,” you may be saying, “how are you going to try to open your mind to alternate viewpoints?”

As a matter of fact, once whoever took it out returns it to my local library, I plan on reading 40 More Years by James Carville. 

* – never underestimate the power of the dark side…

debt-star

Responses

  1. I haven’t read the Beck piece yet, but I promise I WILL, and I’ll come back here to talk to you about it.

    The “I pledge” piece took me a little aside, too. There are some sentiments that I really, REALLY like (“I pledge to cultivate a culture of intelligence, not a culture of ignorance” and “I pledge to commit to my own change first, before asking others to change” (or something like that)). I agree with you, however, that the “pledging to serve the President” bit was a poor choice on the part of the filmmaker. Only the President’s staff serves at his pleasure, and ALL of them work to serve the People of the United States. They got that totally wrong, and I’m afraid that bit will turn a lot of people – on BOTH “sides” of the political fence – off of the larger message.

  2. Oh, dear; “Common Sense” is a BOOK; I thought it was an article, but I clicked on the link and it took me to Barnes and Noble. Sorry; I really won’t have time for book reading that isn’t school-related until at least January. Remind me then, k?

  3. For what it’s worth, Mrs. C., “Common Sense” is a fairly short book. Pages 115 – 167 are a reprinting of Thomas Paine’s “Common Sense.” Beck’s original writing is from pages 3 – 111.


Leave a Reply

Categories

