Posted by: nhfalcon | July 23, 2009

Today’s Words of Wisdom v.7.23.09

I had hemmed and hawed quite a bit over whether or not to post today’s quote. In fact, as of the day before yesterday, I had decided not to post it. However, after the discussion yesterday’s seemingly innocuous (or so I had thought) post generated, I figured, “What the hell – in for a penny, in for a pound.”

And away we go…

“”To quote (Emily) Hilts: ‘We’ve all heard of caring for our inner child. But’s it’s the inner bitch that now needs to be nurtured. It’s time to stop denying the inner bitch.’

… Ms. Hilts says her use of this vulgarity should not be construed in a negative context. It’s not a slur, she insists…

Do you see what’s happening here? … (F)eminists are now trying to redefine a traditionally derogatory term for women. The idea is that a self-reliant, strong woman with resolve and character is, by definition, a bitch – or, at least she needs to be in order to compete in this man’s world. Keep in mind, folks, this is not… (an) alleged hate-monger, bigot, (and) misogynist… who is saying this. This is a… feminist theoretician. I personally consider use of this word in most circumstances a highly insulting characterization. In my opinion, by using this terminology, women are falling right into an old male-barroom stereotype. These women who think they’re emancipating themselves are really doing nothing but fostering a degrading stereotype that has been perpetuated by true chauvinist pigs.

Intentionally or unintentionally, what these… feminists are actually doing is strengthening and reinforcing a bigoted, sexist, and ugly stereotype. How ironic…”

Let the fur fly… 🙂

Responses

  1. The problem here is that I cannot get myself worked up to care what feminists want to call themselves. It’s the names they use for men that bother me.

  2. The original “feminists” are so far outside the mainstream anymore it’s hard to regard them as anything but a sideshow act. Any worthy goals they ever had have essentially been accomplished. Today they’re much too busy spewing senseless and baseless hate to warrant a seat at the grown-up table.

    Funny chicks. They probably have the vapors.

  3. Well, Falcon, I tried to rile. Guess no one wants to play.

    Q. How many feminists does it take to change a light bulb?

    A1. That’s not funny.

    A2. Four: one to change it, and three to write about how the socket was violated.

  4. No worries, Bo. For one thing, I have a pretty small readership here (either that or I have an extremely high population of lurkers as opposed to commentators). For another, I know at least one of my more regular commentators has FAR more important things to deal with right now than my blog.

    It’s all good.

  5. Thank you, Falcon, I DO have more important things to think about at the moment (I’m assuming you’re referring to me here, right?).

    I’ve also learned that I don’t have to attend every fight I’m invited to. I’m choosing not to expend what little extra energy I have in this engagement, regardless of how actively I’m baited.

    It’s all good.

  6. Yes, Mrs. C., I am referring to you.

    I AM interested in your reaction to the quote in question, though.

    When time and circumstance allow, though, of course.

  7. My feeling is that extreme in one way or the other isn’t a good thing. I want for women to have independance, to have equality in the workplace, etc. Women should have their own credit cards, work on their credit, and not close out their own credit cards (that their report was pulled for) because their husband wants to control them. I believe in being independant, but yet, I’m old fashioned and a romantic at heart. I love chivarly. I’m sweet to my partner conversely. I love men and love the fact that men and women are different in so many ways. Just my thoughts. Cheri

  8. I’m not baiting you, Mrs. Chili. You are not a feminist, even if you think you are.


Leave a Reply

Categories

