Posted by: nhfalcon | December 27, 2008

Post Xmas Randomness (edited)

* – first of all, please note that the Eyrie has been in existence for over TWO YEARS now! (whodathunkit?)

* – even more importantly, everybody’s relatively healthy this year. I am not sick. Little Man is not sick. Cookiemaker has some sort of nerve damage to one eye, but the doctors have assured her that it will go away with time, and she says it is getting better, so I’m not worried about it. My mother is recovering nicely from a detached retina. My father is recovering nicely from an intestinal infection. Cookiemaker’s mother is recovering nicely from gall bladder surgery. All of my friends, as far as I know, are in excellent health, as are their families.

* – I am employed again. I’ve gone back to work for an inventory company I last worked for 12 years ago. It’s a cut in pay and there are no benefits, but it keeps the wolf out and they are a good bunch of people to work with. I had an interview with a bank on Christmas Eve that I feel fairly positive about, so we’ll see what happens there. I’m also signing up to substitute teach at four different school districts in the local area, so that could be another avenue for income. I’m even entertaining the thought about applying for the Border Patrol. Hey – they’re advertising in the local paper, so why not?

* – going back to friends, it was nice to see and hear from people over the holidays. I got to have lunch with Mrs. Chili, her husband, and his brother on the 22nd. FunSize, Lioness, and PoohBear all texted me on Christmas Day. It was just nice to be remembered.

* – I’m not sure I’m loving this new theme I’m using. What do you think?

* – I was a pretty good husband this Christmas, I think. Cookiemaker got things she needed – jeans, lounge pants, practical undergarments, as well as things she wanted – a video game she likes, three new CDs, and two new DVDs.

* – I, too, got a video game I was eagerly anticipating. I was hoping for another one even, more, but Cookiemaker was probably right when she said, “If I get you that, your son and I will never see you again!” 🙂

* – the gift I received that I’m enjoying the most, however, is this book. This is more than just military nonfiction. I would highly recommend it to anyone, whether they like military books or not – and I haven’t even finished it yet!

* – gas has hit a five-year low. It’s down to $1.69 in my neck of the woods.

* – my sister and her family are up from New Jersey for their annual Christmas visit. When I saw them last night I found out that my brother-in-law’s brother has a blog, too. He’s a major league baseball fan (pardon the pun 🙂 ), a brilliant woodcarver, and – a warning to you left-wingers out there – an apparently staunch Republican.

* – guess we don’t have to worry about whether or not the Red Sox acquiring Mark Teixeira is a good idea any more, do we?

* – my Falcons have made the playoffs! Holy stinkin’ crap! Not only that, but if they beat the Rams and the Panthers lose to the Saints, they’ll be the #2 seed in the NFC! That means they’ll get a week off to rest and heal injuries and play at least one playoff game at home! Sunday will be one of those rare days that Saintseester and I root for the same team. 😉

* – god(dess), but I love gouda cheese!

* – Little Man has surprised Cookiemaker and I with one of his Christmas special selections this year. Sure, he’s seen (more than 🙂 ) his share of Rudolph, the Grinch, Emmett Otter, and Santa Clause coming to town, but he’s also fallen in love with – get this – White Christmas! Not only that, but you’d think if he was going to sing a song from this flick it would be the title track, right? Nope. He’s marching around the house going, “We’ll follow the old man / wherever he wants to go / wherever he wants to go / wherever he wants to go…” and saluting people.

Wonder what he’ll do if we expose him to It’s A Wonderful Life or Miracle on 34th Street?

Responses

  1. Time flies when you’re blogging, huh? I was just looking at your sidebar and marveling that you’ve been married for seven years (not that I thought you couldn’t STAY married for seven years – more that it doesn’t seem like it’s been that long. Of course, then I look over at my ELEVEN YEAR OLD DAUGHTER and all my time perception goes straight to hell).

    I like the new theme – what’s the photo?

    It WAS wonderful to see you for lunch (and yes, I did get Mr. Chili that present he asked for and NO, I didn’t give it to him on Christmas morning; he was chagrined even in private and protested that he was ONLY KIDDING!).

    I’m glad you are all healthy. We’ve got a bit of a cold, but nothing, really, worth mentioning.

    Hey – what are you guys doing for New Year’s? I know it’s a trek, but you’re welcomed to come to Chez Chili to celebrate (EARLY) with us, the Bowyers and the MeadMakers. Let me know.

  2. Hi Mrs. C.,

    The photo is the default picture for this particular theme. If I were going to guess, I’d say it’s some English countryside overlooking the Channel, but that’s just a guess. Apparently I can change the photo, but I haven’t tried to yet. Stay tuned…

    What I don’t like is all this unused blue to either side of the actual blog. It just seems like a waste.

    So, um, which publication did you get hubby? You know, If I’d known you were going to get him one, I could have tagged along and offered my expertise. 😉

    Cookiemaker’s actually working on New Year’s Eve, and we likely wouldn’t have anybody to watch Little Man, so he’d have to come with us. Is that an issue? And how early is “EARLY”? Send me an email or something, ok?

  3. happy new year


Leave a Reply

Categories

