Posted by: nhfalcon | November 23, 2008

Three Bits of Randomness

* – I think I kinda like this idea:

“Like a lot of folks in this state, I have a job. I work,they pay me. I pay my taxes and the government distributes my taxes as it sees fit. In order to get that paycheck, I am required to pass a random urine test with which I have no problem.

What I do have a problem with is the distribution of my taxes to people who don’t have to pass a urine test. Shouldn’t one have to pass a urine test to get a welfare check because I have to pass one to earn it for them? Please understand, I have no problem with helping people get back on their feet. I do, on the other hand, have a problem with helping someone sitting on their ass, doing drugs, while I work.

Can you imagine how much money the state would save if people had to pass a urine test to get a public assistance check?”

I received the above as an email from a friend. A gross oversimplification that unfortunately paints most welfare recipients as useless druggies, to be sure, but I think there’s a nugget of wisdom in there somewhere…

* – here’s the next few offerings from Pixar, in case your interested.

* – some good flicks coming up on the DVD shelves soon. I still haven’t seen “Iron Man” or “Indy 4” yet, and I’m also looking forward to “Hancock,” “The Dark Knight,” and “Traitor.”

Responses

  1. We re-watched Iron Man last night – it’s a HOOT, and you’ll love it. Go buy it. Now.

    I’ve not seen Hancock or Traitor, but I plan to see both, and soon. I didn’t love Indy 4, though it had its fun moments. The Dark Knight rocked.

  2. That’s an interesting notion about the drugs. Overall, I wonder how many taxpaying workers have to take drug tests. Let’s say it’s 37%. Which 37% of recipients of govt. benefits for the needy should get tested? Should children in needy families be denied benefits if the parent applying for benefits fails a drug test?

    How much money would the Fed. Govt. have to borrow to pay for such tests? (I consider all money for any idea not currently funded to be, of necessity, borrowed because we are already running tremendous deficits).

    I agree that in some sort of “gut” way it seems unfair for law-abiding hard-working taxpayers to have to toe mark on drugs while others get those tax dollars with impunity on the drug issue.

    I thought “Iron Man” was dogshit soup.


Leave a Reply

Categories

