Posted by: nhfalcon | September 1, 2008

Songs For Cookiemaker

TwoBlue had a post the other day where he referenced the Marc Cohn song “True Companion,” which reminded me that once upon a time I had made a CD for Cookiemaker full of, as Paul McCartney would say, “silly love songs.” I managed to find that CD today, and now present the selections on it for your listening enjoyment:

1) “Softly” by Neal Schon (my song to her on our wedding day)

2) “The One” by Elton John

3) “I’ll Stand By You” by The Pretenders

4) “Amazed” by Lonestar

5) “I Cross My Heart” by George Strait

6) “To Be With You” by Mr. Big (hey, I’m an Eighties child, remember?)

7) “Wonderful Tonight” by Eric Clapton

8 ) “When I See You Smile” by Bad English (see # 6)

9) “Always With Me, Always With You” by Joe Satriani (see # 8 )

10) “Faithfully” by Journey (do I really need to keep explaining the Eighties thing? 🙂 )

11) “Angel Eyes” by the late Jeff Healey

12) “Take A Look At Yourself” by Coverdale / Page

13) “Love Song” by Tesla

14) “I Would Do Anything For Love” by Meatloaf

15) “Everything I Do (I Do It For You)” by Bryan Adams (the whole song, not just the radio edit, because the outro guitar solo is utterly BRILLIANT!)

16) “Storybook Love” – by Willie DeVille and Mark Knopfler (from one of the greatest movies ever – The Princess Bride)

17) “Wherever You May Go” by David Coverdale

Now that I’m done listing all the tracks, I realize that I lied on my comment to TrueBlue’s post – I DIDN’T have “True Companion” on this CD! I should have – it’s a beautiful, beautiful song.

There, see? I can be all lovey-dovey, too. It’s not always about the sex…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

… just most of the time! 😉

Responses

  1. Heh.

    I was thinking about love songs the other day, and if I were to make a mix CD for Mr. Chili, Dave Matthews’ The Best of What’s Around would be on it. It doesn’t SEEM like a love song, but when he gets to “see, you and me have a better time than most can dream of / have it better than the best / so we can pull on through / whatever tears at us / whatever holds us down and if nothing can be done / we make the best of what’s around,” I say “yeah – that’s my marriage.

    It doesn’t hurt that the next line is “turns out not where / but who you’re with that really matters.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

