Posted by: nhfalcon | August 10, 2008

MORE Randomness?! Holy Schnikey!*

* – not that I think “schnikey” is a real word, but if it was, is that spelling even close?

# – ah, the joys of working in a coastal New England tourist trap town! You get to see street signs like this:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(so this is where I need to move to physically when I reach that mental state!)

and greeting cards like these:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(ouch, babe! I got no comeback for this one. Score one for the ladies)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(now, while I’m perfectly willing to admit that I sit on the sofa and fart a lot – come to think of it, I fart in a lot of places… – I am perfectly capable of, and in fact actual do, ironing my clothes)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(are those things pre-adolescent females actually do? Ladies? Did you actually practice French kissing with your pillows?!)

# – how sad is it that I’m actually thrilled to see the price of gas “drop” to $3.79 a gallon today?

# – I caught this video the other day while randomly flipping through channels and stumbling across CMT…

Holy crap! This ain’t your Daddy’s country music anymore, kiddies!

# – when did the Olympics get cheerleaders? (and when did Bo Derek circa 10 cornrows come back into style?)

# – hey, ladies, here’s a great way to get into shape!

# – so, with the exception of tomorrow night’s tilt between the Cincinnati Bengals and the now Brett Favre-less Green Bay Packers, the first weekend of the NFL preseason is in the books. I can’t believe football is so freaking close! I can’t wait!

Not only that, but the start of the NFL season means the start of another Borderline Fantasy Football season! This was a fantasy league I started (and am still, with the exception of a one-year hiatus, commissioner of) about a dozen or so years ago. We’ve had some hiccups along the way, and changed a few “owners” (such as Bowyer), but it’s been a lot of fun. However, while I can believe that Mrs. Chili‘s hubby had the second worst team in the league last year ( 😉 ), I CANNOT believe I was the worst! 

That debacle will not be repeated this year, my friends! I swear to you, it will not!

# – lastly, I cannot believe the fervor of Red Sox fans. I mean, I am one. Have been since 1977. But to listen to people gripe on WEEI (850 AM out of Boston) is just ridiculous. Hey, you clowns, we’ve won two out of the last four World Series! We’re in the lead for the AL wildcard right now. We’re only 4.5 games out of first in the AL East (and, oh, btw – there’s forty-one games to go!). Only three teams in all of MLB have better records than we do. Calm the f*#k down!

Oh, yeah, btw – we’ve accomplished all that we have so far this year without Curt Schilling at all, without Dice-K for a long stretch, without Big Papi for a long stretch, and without Manny for the last week or so. Josh Beckett has been a bit of a disappointment, Jason Varitek has been a COMPLETE letdown offensively, and yet we’re still right in the thick of it. Relax!

Try to think of how bright the future looks, too. This is a pretty damn (pardon my language, MIL Chili 🙂 ) young team. Josh Beckett, Dice-K, Jon Lester, Clay Bucholz, Justin Masterson, David Aardsma, Manny Delcarmen and Jonathan Papelbon are all under thirty.

And that’s just the pitching staff!

Then throw in Dustin Pedroia, Jed Lowrie, and Jacoby Ellsbury. Not to mention Kevin Youkilis. Jason Bay doesn’t turn thirty until September 20.

I’m just sayin’…

Responses

  1. I’m excited for the start of NFL season, too. I just wish it went longer.

    Oh, and I had three hours in the car with my MIL and I stopped myself from saying “hell,” “damned,” and “fucking” at least once. Truly, it was an effort, and that’s why I’m earning karma points for the trip…


Leave a Reply

Categories

