Posted by: nhfalcon | February 27, 2008

Just Checking In

Well, hi there! It has been a while, hasn’t it? A bit more than three weeks, in fact. Sorry about that.

Why has it been so long? Well, some of it was mourning the Patriots’ loss in SBXVII (more on that later…) and some of it was just plain laziness, but most of it was me being sick as a dog for a bit.

It started on Tuesday the 5th. I dropped Little Man off at his daycare in the morning and gradually felt more and more “off” as the day progressed. Not sick, just kinda “off.” When I got up the next morning, however, I felt fine, so I shrugged it off. I dropped Little Man off at his daycare again and went about my business as I got ready for work. By the time I got to work, though, I was past “off.” My nose was running like a spigot and I just didn’t feel right. After two-and-a-half hours I had had enough and went home early, diving into bed as soon as I got home. Friday I called in sick. Other than dropping off Little Man and answering Nature’s call, I never left the bed. I felt better the next day, so I went back to work, and also worked on Sunday. I had Monday and Tuesday off anyway, but on those two days I just had no energy. I spent most of those two days in bed. On Wednesday the 13th I worked from 9:30 to 5. When I got home I had every intention of getting stuff done around the house. I got as far as getting a load of dishes done and then went to bed. Despite having four layers of sheets and blankets over me, I was shivering uncontrollably. When I went into work the next day people were constantly commenting on how I looked like death warmed over. It wasn’t until Friday the 15th that I finally felt like I had kicked whatever the hell it was that had infected me.

So what the hell had infected me? I’m not sure, but my guess is a flu bug. My nose was running. I felt nauseous. I had chills. I felt lightheaded. I had NO energy. I eventually developed a cough and hacked up all sorts of disgusting stuff (I’m STILL blowing colored snot out of my nose!). I had the most godawful taste in my mouth no matter what I ate (which was very little) or drank or how often I brushed my teeth and tongue. Kinda sounds like a flu, doesn’t it?

I barely ate during this time, and most of what I ate was oranges in an attempt to get fluids and nutrients into me. I didn’t take much medication because I felt nauseous and didn’t have much food in me as a buffer. I did drink more fluids than I usually do, mostly water and fruit juice. The true indicator of just how poorly I felt, however, was the fact that I had absolutely ZERO sex drive. My libido had completely left me. I could have had Shyla Stylez and Audrey Bitoni writhing naked in front of me, doing unspeakably naughty, wonderful things to each other and frantically begging me to join them and they quite literally would not have been able to get a rise out of me.

Now THAT is sick! 

Back to the Patriots – how in the hell did they lose that game?! The answer, in my opinion, is quite simple, though probably heretical here in New England.

Bill Belichick got outcoached.

It just looked to me liked he did a horrible job of gameplanning before the game began and an equally dismal job of making in-game adjustments as the game progressed. Did he not know the Giants led the league in sacks during the regular season? Did he not know that most of those sacks came from just three guys (Michael Strahan, Osi Umenyiora, and Justin Tuck)? Was he just arrogant enough to think that none of that mattered? That he and his team were just too good?

When you face a team that rushes the passer well, you try to establish a running game to slow that rush down. What was the ration of pass-to-run for the Pats offense that night? Two-to-one? Three-to-one? You also try to give your offensive linemen help in blocking the pass rushers. How many times was there a fullback on the field for New England? A half-dozen? How many times were there two tight ends on the field? Another half-dozen? You try to run short, quick pass patterns so your quarterback can get rid of the ball before the rush gets to him. Seems to me the Pats were either running a lot of longer patterns or Tom Brady was choosing to wait for the longer pattern in each play to develop rather than taking what the defense was giving him. It also makes sense to move the pocket to get the QB away from the rush. I think I saw one designed rollout for New England during the entire game.

Sigh…

Responses

  1. I just got the feeling the Pats’ loss after winning every other game up to then was poetic justice. Cheater Bill got his comeuppance. On the other hand, maybe he was outcoached.

    Glad to see you back. Glad you feel better.

  2. I have to take a bit of an issue with the “Cheater Bill” thing, twoblue. Please forgive me if I come across a little harsh here. I’m not really that worked up about this, but sometimes written words convey inflections that aren’t really there…

    If you think Belichick is the only coaches that does things like Spygate, you’re sadly mistaken. The only difference between Bill and the rest of the league is that Bill got caught.

    That doesn’t make what he did right or that I condone it, but to villify only Belichick is wrong, imho.

    The other thing that kind of confuses me about this affair is this: we’ve all seen coaches and players loking at photographs taken as the game is being played in an effort to understand the opponent’s offense or defense. What’s the difference between that and what Bill’s been busted for?

  3. I just figure that the NFL has its reasons for making the videotaping verboten, and not the instant photos used during games, and that Mr. Bill knew that before doing it.

    I have no sympathy for transgressors who whine they shouldn’t be punished because every cheater/lawbreaker isn’t caught. I really don’t mean it harshly, but the reductio ad absurdem would be a murderer protesting his conviction on the basis that there were a lot of other, unsolved murders, and therefore he was a scapegoat.


Leave a Reply

Categories

