Posted by: nhfalcon | December 25, 2007

A Year At the Eyrie

Wow! It’s been one year already! Hard to believe, huh? I hope all of you have enjoyed my efforts so far.

Anyway, as some of you might remember, my very first blog referenced how crummy last Christmas was. Well, I’m happy to report this Christmas has been much better so far. How much better? Well, to quote Elizabeth Barrett Browning once again, let me count the ways…

Last year everybody was sick. This year, the colds were all gone by the time today rolled around, and nobody had conjunctivitis.

Last year the illnesses prevented us from traveling to see out families. As I write this I’m watching “Home Alone” at my parents’ place. We’ve already celebrated the day with Cookiemaker’s family. Tomorrow my sister and her family will be here and we’ll have another celebration.

Last year I had one friend get into a car accident, another friend found out her father had throat cancer, and a third friend announced he and his wife were separating after the holidays. This year there were no accidents or threatening illnesses, but I did have a friend tell me she had moved out of the house she had lived in with her her husband of over 25 years and that a divorce was pending. 😦

Last year work was FUBAR. This year, though I am still in retail and not yet a teacher, work was much better. I think that myself and the rest of the staff is a team, and our boss is great. He’s funny, laid-back, a leader, and considers himself one of us, not better than us.

This Christmas was a white Christmas, not a proof-of-global-warming Christmas.

This year Cookiemaker and I were able to celebrate our usual Christmas tradition.

Last year my son had to get stitches. Not this year.

Last year James Brown and Gerald Ford died. No major celebrities this year (that I’m aware of, anyway).

Oh, yeah – Little Man still doesn’t quite get the whole idea of Santa Claus and all the other Christmas traditions, but he has grown to like Rudolph, Frosty, and a number of other holiday classics.

Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night!

Responses

  1. Yay! “Happier than last year” is really all I strive for – I’m glad you attained it. Now, let’s see what we can do about NEXT year…


Leave a Reply

Categories

