Posted by: nhfalcon | December 14, 2007

Some Random Randomness

* I stumbled upon this list the other day. You could certainly debate the ranking order, I suppose, but I don’t think it missed anybody, do you?

* I’m a Red Sox fan. Have been since 1977. I witnessed first-hand the Collapse of ’78 and the Buckner Debacle of ’86 and the Grady / Pedro Snafu of 2003. I cannot express how happy I’ve been with the World Series wins of 2004 and this year.

I bring this up because the Sox have been making some big news recently even after their most recent World Championship. They’ve been mentioned often as suitors for Minnesota Twins ace pitcher Johan Santana, the best left-handed pitcher in Major League Baseball, and arguably the best pitcher period. Would I like to see Santana in a Red Sox uniform? Absolutely – as long as the price isn’t too high.

The most commonly mentioned package of Red Sox players going to the Twins for Santana has been pitcher Jon Lester, centerfielder Coco Crisp (yes, that’s really the guy’s name), and minor leaguers Jed Lowrie and Justin Masterson. I am perfectly OK with that package. I just don’t want to see either pitcher Clay Bucholz or outfielder Jacoby Ellsbury leave Boston, not even for Santana.

* I mentioned a while back that I was very ashamed to be a fan of the Atlanta Falcons because of the Michael Vick scandal. Well, things haven’t gotten any better lately. The other day Falcons head coach Bobby Petrino, who hadn’t even finished his first year in the NFL, quit the team to become the head football coach of the University of Arkansas.

In the long run, this is probably a good thing. I hadn’t heard much good about Petrino so far this NFL season. Apparently, the guy had the personality of a rock, the warmth of the iceberg the Titanic hit, and expected his every little whim to be obeyed like he was Hitler. That may work in college, where you’re dealing with kids just out of high school, but the grown men in the NFL don’t take to kindly to that. Apparently many of the Falcons’ players did not like or respect Petrino, and they like him even less now. Words like disloyal, coward, and betrayed have been thrown around quite a bit.

Sigh.

I can only hope, much like in the Vick situation, that owner Arthur Blank learns from this situation and does a better job of finding a new head coach for the team. I’ve heard the name of Mike Singletary associated with the Falcons quite a bit since Petrino left, and I would be absolutely ecstatic if he gets the job. Here’s hoping!

* I ate like a pig for a few days starting last Saturday night, and I enjoyed every single minute of it! Saturday night was a Christmas office party at the home of one of the people Cookiemaker used to work with (thanx again, Mrs. & Mr. C., for looking after Little Man for us that night!). These folks lay out a spread! They had set up a full bar, for starters. There were plenty of hors d’oeuvres – crackers and cheese, veggie trays, meat trays, tostitos and salsa, chips, dips, chains, whips…

Sorry, that was a different party. 🙂

Anyway, then the real food came out. My first plate was laden with a boneless breast of chicken, slices of ham, salad, meatballs in sauce, au gratin potatoes, and a roll. My second plate contained steamed vegetables, pasta, and bread. Then dessert came out! Cookies, an ice cream cake, frozen yogurt… Too bad Cookiemaker and I had to leave at that point. 😦

Sunday Cookiemaker made a burgundy beef stew that lasted a few days. Monday she and I had our little Christmas tradition, so I stopped by a local restaurant and picked up some breakfast on the way home from dropping off Little Man at his daycare. I had eggs benedict and home fries and finished off the wife’s blueberry pancakes when she decided she’d had enough. We ordered Domino’s pizza for dinner. Tuesday morning we did a bit of Xmas shopping, so I ordered a double egg, cheese, and ham on an english muffin sandwich from the deli in our local mall.

*BURP!!!* 🙂

* I have an interview at an area high school Monday afternoon for a long-term substitute position in the social studies department. My internship coordinator from last year let me know about this position via email. He emphasized the point that he only told me about the opening, not any of his other interns or former interns.

I was rather touched by that.

Please send good karma (and any advice that you might have for the interview) my way, OK?

Responses

  1. You’re more than welcome for the sitting services. Truth be told, Little Man was more interested in hanging with the girls than he was in being with us. He’s a ladies’ man already; you must be so proud!

    Really, though, he was no trouble at all. None.

    I’m vibing for you and the job. I’ve got no advice to give; I think that any school would be lucky to have you and stupid to pass you up. Go into the interview with a fair bit of confidence; KNOW that you can do the job and let them know you know it. Oh – wait – that sounded like advice….

  2. Have a good time with the interview. I’ll be thinking of you, can’t wait to hear.


Leave a Reply

Categories

