Posted by: nhfalcon | December 6, 2007

Sights of the Season

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I have a number of different traditions that I use to try to get me into the holiday spirit. My favorite one is when Cookiemaker and I take a day off together, sleep in late, eventually get up only to drag the mattress, blankets, and pillows into the living room, make a bed on the floor, never get out of our jammies all day, and spend the rest of the day doing nothing but eating breakfast foods (my wife makes a kickass egg, ham, cheese, and english muffin breakfast sandwich), drinking coffee and hot chocolate, and watching Christmas specials and movies. We usually wind up just falling asleep that night in the living room.

Now that Little Man has joined us, the sleeping in late part really doesn’t happen more. 🙂 Seeing as Cookiemaker doesn’t like our son to watch too much TV, I’ll be dropping him off at his daycare this year, which also means that the day probably won’t last quite as long as it used to, but that’s ok. I’ll buy breakfast from a local place on the way back from his daycare to lighten the cooking load on Cookiemaker a bit (I can’t cook to save my life. In fact, most people don’t want me to cook in order to save their lives! 🙂 ). Next year (I hope), Little Man will join us in the tradition.

Like most people my age – I’m the age that Curly guesses Mitch Robbins is in City Slickers (no, I can’t just come out and say how old I am. What, do you want me to just hand you everything on a silver platter?! 😉 ) – I’ve seen a lot of Christmas specials and movies in my time, and the following are my favorites:

A Charlie Brown Christmas – a timeless classic. Lucy does need to get bitch-slapped one of these days, though 🙂

Mr. Magoo’s “A Christmas Carol” – thank heavens I own this, ‘cuz you almost never see it on TV anymore

‘Twas the Night Before Christmas – see Mr. Magoo

Dr. Seuss’ “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” – I’m talking about the classic animated version, here, not the Jim Carrey film (which wasn’t too bad)

A Muppett Family Christmas – see Magoo

Emmett Otter’s Jug-Band Christmas – when I first saw this listed in the old family HBO guide, I thought it was going to be lame. Then I was being a pain in my mom’s ass one day (imagine that! 🙂 ) and she told me to go watch TV and it was the only thing on that even remotely interested me.

Thank you, Mom. This is one of the best Christmas specials I’ve ever seen.

Frosty the Snowman – see Charlie Brown

Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer – see Charlie Brown

The Berenstein Bears’ Christmas Tree – see Magoo (no video)

Yogi Bear’s First Christmas – see Magoo (not much of a video, but it was the best I could do)

White Christmas – I’ll thank Cookiemaker for this one, because otherwise I don’t think I would’ve bothered with it. I’m just not a classic movie kind of guy

It’s A Wonderful Life – sure the networks play it to death, but usually don’t watch the networks. If I’m watching it because I choose to put it in the DVD player, not because some corporation is shoving it down my throat, then I like it

Miracle on 34th Street – we have the 1947 version on DVD, but I’ve seen the 1994 version, too, and it’s pretty good

Rich Little’s “A Christmas Carol” – see Magoo

A Garfield Christmas – see Magoo. What Garfield does for Jon’s grandmother in this is very sweet.

Yes, I’m a sap. Kill me.

A Claymation Christmas – see Magoo. The penguins are frickin’ hilarious (too bad I couldn’t find a clip of them 😦 )!

The Year Without Santa Clause – “I’m Mister Heat Miser…”

Santa Clause Is Coming to Town – see Charlie Brown

Not that I want to be a Grinch, here, but there are a couple of Christmas specials or movies I just cannot stand…

A Christmas Story – I never understood the attraction to this movie

Nestor, the Long-Eared Christmas Donkey – a Christmas special that features a little baby donkey caught in a snowstorm with his mother, falling asleep with her protecting him from the cold, and him waking up to find her frozen to death. FUCKING LOVELY! Who thought that up?!

The Story of Santa Claus – a Christmas special with a fight scene against evil monsters? Huh? 

Responses

  1. I showed A Muppet Christmas Carol to my lit class this morning. God, but I love that movie…


Leave a Reply

Categories

