Posted by: nhfalcon | November 30, 2007

Sounds of the Season (Updated)

(after some nagging by Mrs. Chili… 🙂 ) 

I have all sorts of little traditions I use to try to get into the Christmas spirit when this time of year arrives. One of those traditions is to listen to nothing but Christmas songs from December 1st through December 25th (sadistic little bastard, ain’t I? 🙂 ). With that tradition in mind, here’s a list of some of my favorite  – and not-so-favorite – Christmas songs…

2000 Miles” by the Pretenders. You almost never hear this song on the radio anymore, not even on the nothing-but-Christmas-music-24-hours-a-day stations. I love it.

Please Come Home For Christmas” by the Eagles. This was later covered by Bon Jovi for one of the “A Very Special Christmas” albums.

Chipmunks Roasting On An Open Fire” – by the Bob Rivers Comedy Corps. This version of “The Christmas Song” is just funny as hell!

Frankly, just about anything from Bob Rivers’ Christmas albums are hilarious. Some more than others, but I don’t think I’ve disliked anything I’ve heard him do.

Christmas In Sarajevo” by Trans-Siberian Orchestra. This version of “The Carol of the Bells” frickin’ rocks!

Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)” by U2. This is the only version of this song that I like.

Christmas Is the Time to Say I Love You” by Billy Squire. An old classic.

“Christmas Time Again” by Extreme. This song was on the first “A Very Special Christmas” album and is just wonderful. The melody, the harmonies, the lyrics – just a great song! (sorry – couldn’t find a video 😦 )

“Christmastime Is Here Again” by Steve Vai. A guitar instrumental cover of the song from the Charlie Brown Christmas special. (again, no video)

Do They Know It’s Christmas?” by Band Aid. Yeah, yeah, I know – twenty years later this song is kinda corny, but hey – I’m an 80’s child, ok? Kill me.

Do You Hear What I Hear?” by Whitney Houston. She may be a crack whore and Bobby Brown’s bitch now, but once upon a time she could sing, and this was an excellent remake. (not much of a video, but the music is what’s important, right?)

Father Christmas” by the Kinks. Another classic.

Feliz Navidad” by Jose Feliciano. It’s just not Christmas if you don’t hear this song at least once during the season. “A-ha!”

“God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen” by Garth Brooks. Brooks does a nice job with this. (no video)

Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas” by the Pretenders. Another selection from the first “A Very Special Christmas” album.

“Here Is Christmas” by Ann and Nancy Wilson (of Heart). This may well be my favorite Christmas song. The song tells a terrific little story and the Wilson sisters’ vocals are perfect. (no video)

I Believe In Father Christmas” by Emerson, Lake, & Palmer. Another classic radio Christmas song.

“I’ll Be Home For Christmas.” I love this song and the sentiment it carries. The version I have downloaded on my computer is by Jimmy Buffett, but I’ll admit that I’m looking for a better one. (no video)

Jingle Bells” by Barbara Streisand. Nothing like a little Christmas music by Babs on crack! I do chuckle when she goes “Upsot?!”

Yes, the correct word is upsot. The word does not exist, according to dictionary.com, but the theories I have found regarding this word are 1) simply a version of “upset” made up to rhyme in the song, 2) it means turned over, according to the context it’s used in in a couple of 19th century poems, and 3) it’s a version of the word “sot,” which means drunk or intoxicated.

Joy to the World.” The version I have is by Jewel, and she does a good job with it. The fact that she’s easy to look at while she sings it doesn’t hurt. 🙂

“Let It Snow.” My version is by Harry Connick, Jr. Not bad. (no video)

Little Drummer Boy” by Bob Seger. Another cut from the first “A Very Special Christmas.” This version of this song is just utterly brilliant! The passion in Seger’s voice, the guitar fills in the background… Brilliant!

Little Saint Nick” by the Beach Boys. See “Feliz Navidad.”

“O Come All Ye Faithful.” I don’t know why, but this is my favorite religious Christmas song. The version I have is a duet by Faith Hill and Leann Rimes. (no video)

O Holy Night” by Celine Dion. I’m not a big Celine fan, but the woman can sing

The “South Park” version of this song is funny as hell! 🙂

Peace On Earth / Little Drummer Boy” by David Bowie and Bing Crosby. See “Feliz Navidad.”

Same Old Lang Syne” by Dan Fogelberg. I know, I know – it’s not really a Christmas song, but this is the only time of year you hear it, and I like the song.

Santa Claus Is Coming To Town” by Bruce Springsteen. This is THE Chrstmas radio classic! It just is not Christmas if you do not hear this song at least once during the season. I cannot help but laugh every time I hear Clarence’s baritone echoing The Boss: “You better be good for goodness sake!”

Silent Night” by Stevie Nicks. Much like Seger’s “Drummer Boy” this version by Nicks is amazing. The voice in the background echoing her makes the song. 

Snoopy and the Red Baron” by the Royal Guardsmen. This is an old childhood favorite.

So This Is Christmas” by John Lennon. See “Feliz Navidad.”

Step Into Christmas” by Elton John. Much like “2000 Miles,” you almost never hear this song on the radio at Christmastime any more.

White Christmas” by Bing Crosby. It’s just not Christmas without the Binger.

Winter Wonderland” by the Eurythmics. A nice arrangement from the – yes, you guessed it – first “A Very Special Christmas.”

There are obviously a bunch of classics I’ve missed – “Rudolph,” “Frosty,” etc. I’ve done so only because I haven’t found any one particularly brilliant version of them.

Of the few Christmas songs I don’t like, Paul McCartney’s “Simply Having A Wonderful Christmastime” immediately jumps to mind. I don’t know why, but that song just annoys me. I’m not particularly fond of “Santa Baby,” either.

Anybody running to add some songs to the ol’ iPod? 

(there, Mrs. C., are you happy now? 🙂 )

Responses

  1. DUDE! You MUST learn to LINK! I’m sure you can find some of these songs on YouTube – cut your loyal reader(s) a break and make this shit easier for us, huh?

    I agree with your assessment of Whitney Houston’s version of “Do You Hear What I Hear.” Destiny’s Child has a couple of really gorgeous Christmas songs, too – I may be able to get them to you if you bring your computer with you the next time you’re here (or a thumb drive, if you don’t have a laptop – I can’t remember if you do).

    My MOST favorite Christmas song is Gabriel’s Message by Sting. He layers his own voice over himself and it just thrills me…

  2. Nag, nag, nag! 🙂

    There, I’ve updated this post with links now. Happy?

    I have to admit that Sting’s “Gabriels Message” just doesn’t do anything for me. It’s not stings arrangement, it’s just the song itself. I don’t think I’d like it no matter who did it.

  3. John Lennon? Really? Also ANY version of Little Drummer Boy?

    I actually like a lot of choir versions of classics but I don’t have them. You should look for the Roches Christmas album, they do some classics in awesome tight harmonies.

  4. I’m not really big fan of The Beatles or any of their individual efforts, Kizz. Nevertheless, “So This Is Christmas (which is actually titled “Happy Christmas (War Is Over)”)” is just such an iconic song to me for this time of the year.

    “Little Drummer Boy” is a pretty average song to me. Seger’s version, however, is just indescribably (sp?) amazing to me. I literally get chills every time I hear it.

  5. […] recently read a post from last year in which nhfalcon shared his thoughts, and it looked like fun.  So here’s what I have to say about Christmas […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

