Posted by: nhfalcon | November 27, 2007

Old Forgotten Faves (Updated)

(to include links to videos where I could find them…) 

Mrs. Chili’s most recent post was the inspiration for this one (and, I imagine, a couple more, at least)

Two of the things I love about modern technology is the internet and MP3’s. Through these two inventions I have been able to stockpile a collection of music that I had to pay little or no money for (please don’t get into the argument of online music piracy and so forth, OK?). I have been able to go out and get just a single song, instead of having to buy an entire CD only to find out the entire CD except that one song sucks. Last, but certainly not least, I have been able to rediscover songs I haven’t heard in years but have always loved.

With that last point, here’s a list of favorites of mine that I probably never would’ve heard again (barring rare lucky moments on the radio) if not for the internet and the MP3:

Don’t Fight It” by Kenny Loggins (with Steve Perry)

Dream Weaver” by Gary Wright

Empty Garden” by Elton John

I Don’t Care Anymore” by Phil Collins

I Drove All Night” by Roy Orbison

I Want To Kiss You All Over” by Exile

I Will Never Be The Same” by Melissa Etheridge (ignore the video and just listen to the song)

I’m All Right” by Kenny Loggins

Love Has Taken Its Toll” by Saraya

Love Is Like Oxygen” by The Sweet

Make You A Believer” by Sass Jordan

Margaritaville” by Jimmy Buffett

My Maria” by B. W. Stevenson

Please Come To Boston” by Dave Loggins

Red Red Wine” by UB40

Rosanna” by Toto

Seven Bridges Road” by The Eagles

“”Shakin’ The Blues” by Screaming Cheetah Wheelies

Solsbury Hill” by Peter Gabriel

The Devil Went Down To Georgia” by The Charlie Daniels Band

The Wreck Of The Edmund Fitzgerald” by Gordon Lightfoot

Ti Kwan Leep / Boot To The Head” by The Frantics (OK, so this is a comedy skit, not a song, but still…)

Twillight Zone” by Golden Earring

We Just Disagree” by Dave Mason

Now for what’s on my desktop…

Afternoon Delight” by Starland Vocal Band

Banana Boat Song” by Harry Belafonte

Beth” by Kiss

Convoy” by C. W. McCall

Cruel To Be Kind” by Nick Lowe

Just Between You And Me” by April Wine

Sail On” by The Commodores

Sometimes When We Touch” by Dan Hill

Superstitious” by Stevie Wonder

Werewolves Of London” by Warren Zevon

Hmmm… As I look at some of these songs (and others that I haven’t listed) I wonder if I shouldn’t do a post about songs I’m ashamed to admit I like…

So, do I have anybody scrambling to download some additions to their iPods? 🙂

Responses

  1. Heh. I’ve got a list of songs I’m almost ashamed to admit I like, too – maybe that should be another Ten Things Tuesday….


Leave a Reply

Categories

