Posted by: nhfalcon | August 28, 2007

How Can Anybody Hurt A Child?

Allow me to start with a quote from Dennis Miller’s The Rants:

“And then there’s the main reason, the definitive reason, the sadly serious reason that you should have to be licensed to have a child. There seems to be a shocking rise in the incidence of child abuse on this planet and I think it augers for the end of the world. I understand a man’s inhumanity to man. Adults are violent amorphous blobs that careen around the planet. Occasionally they brush up against another individual and hey, their life must end. All right, I think we all dig that transaction. We are big boys and girls and we dig our own graves. But when did we start bleeding it into the innocent?”

Now let me present Exhibits A through D for the prosecution:

Exhibit A

Exhibit B

Exhibit C

Exhibit D

What. The. FUCK! Is wrong with people?!!! Are you fucking kidding me?!!!

Look, I’ve always had sympathy for people when I’ve heard stories about parents losing children, patients in children’s hospitals, children being abused, that sort of thing, but it’s different for me now. I’m a parent now, and as a result, I’ve become a complete wuss. Whenever I hear stories like the Exhibits above, I immediately transmit the horror to Little Man and imagine him going through something like that, and so I get both outraged and enraged. I see a segment on ESPN about the mother of a baby girl who’s a high school girl’s basketball coach who get’s killed in a car crash and I just brace myself. Sure enough, Daddy takes over for Mommy coaching and the little girl’s there for all the practices and the team is wearing practice jersey’s with Mommy’s picture on them and the little girl points at the pictures and says “Mommy” and I become a blubbering idiot. I watch the beginning of 300 (300 for Christ’s sake!) where the old man examines the infant to see if it’s “imperfect” and should therefore be thrown over a cliff and I find myself thinking ‘Don’t even dream about it, asshole!” I see an episode of Law & Order: SVU where a woman smothers her newborn to death and it keeps me up half the night. Bowyer told me about a film he shows in his high school biology class about Tay-Sachs disease and I told him “Don’t you ever show me that film.” It makes him cry, and he’s one of the most stoic peole I know. I read about Britney Spears and her lack of parenting skills and just want to bitch-slap the little slut into the next millenium.

Have I made my point yet?

Don’t you people get it? Children are helpless, defenseless, incapable of protecting themselves, and rely entirely on you to survive. They’re also innocent. They have no concept of evil and therefore see everyone in the world as someone who will help them and cannot comprehend that someone might not only hurt them, but want to hurt them.

For those of you out there who are just incompetent parents, let me make something clear to you: IT’S NOT ALL ABOUT YOU ANYMORE!!! YOU AND YOUR PETTY LITTLES DESIRES AND DREAMS NO LONGER MATTER!!! IT’S ALL ABOUT THAT CHILD!!! IF YOU CAN’T GET THAT THROUGH YOUR SKULL THEN DO THE CHILD A FAVOR AND GIVE IT TO SOMEBODY WHO HAS THEIR PRIORITIES STRAIGHT!!!

For those of you out there who would hurt a child physically, sexually, mentally, or emotionally, allow me another quote from The Rants (slightly paraphrased): “You’ve got to promise me if you’re reading this and you ever get to the point in your life where you are so puzzled, confused, and frightened that you feel the only way out is to abuse or molest a little kid, well then, you have got to kill yourself. You have got to lean into the strike zone and take one for the team.”

And if you don’t have the stones to step into the batter’s box, that’s ok – I’ll be more than happy to put the Nolan Ryan heater right between your fuckin’ eyes!

Responses

  1. If I believed in such things, I would believe that there’s a special place in hell reserved for those who abuse the innocent: children, animals, the infirm. Since I don’t believe in hell, though, I’ve got to figure another way to reconcile it. I haven’t quite gotten there yet – if I ever do, I’ll let you know.

  2. I am so soft-hearted about children that I almost cannot bear to hear of terrible things happening to them, even when no neglect or abuse is involved. I say “almost” because as an adult, it is my job to know what’s going on with children, and figure out if there’s anything I can do about it.

    I never had children of my own, but my step-granddaughter is a wonder to me, we are great pals, and I feel bad for days if just telling her no (when necessary) makes her cry or pout. Of course, when necessary, I still tell her no. To me she is the most beautiful loving creature on earth, and just the thought that someone would be mean to her makes me quite sad.

    Just writing this made me sad.

  3. I can’t be right behind you with that second Nolan Ryan heater because I’ll be there beside you at the exact same time. If anybody ever hurt my children I won’t kill them right away so as not to be obvious, but I guarantee you that within 2 years, when they least expect it, they will die a horrible slow death.


Leave a Reply

Categories

