Posted by: nhfalcon | July 9, 2007

You Know You’re Old When…

Songs you used to ROCK to are now acceptable for use in elevators, grocery stores, and television commercials.

My friend CelticWriter first pointed this out to me a few years ago when some company (FedEx, I think) used a Journey song (“Don’t Stop Believin’,” I think) in a tv ad. Then the other day Bowyer remembered Cadillac using “Rock & Roll” from Led Zeppelin in one of their TV commercials. I swear I’ve seen Ozzy’s “Crazy Train” in an ad on tv for somebody.

This morning was the topper. I was grocery shopping this morning at a local Shaw’s and I heard “I Wanna Rock & Roll All Night (And Party Every Day)” from Kiss.

Kill me.

Responses

  1. Oh, yeah, we’re old. It was kind of a done deal when we started bitching about the fashion choices of the younger set. As soon as we noticed the pants around the ass cracks, and began complaining about them, it was official.

  2. My favorite Thought-cho-said of all time is that for YEARS my friend Zelda rocked out to that Kiss tune, only she was singing, “I wanna rock and roll all night and PART OF every day.”

    Brilliant.

    Wonder what she thought they did the other part of every day. Backgammon? Parchesi? Grocery shopping?

  3. […] did a post the other day about how the music I used to ROCK to is now elevator fodder. Listening to my favorite morning show […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

