Posted by: nhfalcon | May 11, 2007

What Happened to Hollywood?

Cookiemaker and I had an early Mother’s Day today, as I will have to work on Sunday. I had the day off (though work called and asked if I could come in to cover someone who had called in sick – I declined) already, and Cookiemaker took the day off. We dropped Little Man off at his daycare and then went to have some breakfast at a local diner. After that we did some Mom’s Day shopping.

Then we went to the movies.

Cookiemaker had been wanting to see Spiderman 3 since the release date had been announced. As we sat through the inevitable fifteen millenium’s worth of previews, something dawned on me…

Nothing Cookimaker and I want to see is an original concept on the part of a Hollywood scriptwriter.

We were sitting in that theater waiting for a sequel to start. A sequel based on a comic book. The last movie we had gone out to see was 300, which is based on a graphic novel. The stuff that we want to see when it comes out? Shrek the Third (sequel), Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer (sequel based on a comic book), Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (sequel based on a novel), and The Bourne Ultimatum (sequel based on a novel).

Other offerings coming from Tinseltown soon that Cookiemaker and I are not necessarily in any hurry to see include Ocean’s Thirteen (sequel), Live Free or Die Hard (sequel), Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End (sequel), Evan Almighty (sequel), and Transformers (based on a TV show).

What the hell?! Did Hollywood forget how to come up with anything original that was good?

P.S. – Spidey 3 was pretty good, btw. Best of the three? I don’t know, but it was good. 

Responses

  1. I’m not even overly aware of what’s out there right now. I’ve never been a big fan of the Spiderman movies (I don’t think we’ve seen the second offering yet, even), but that’s the only movie I know is out in theatres right now; I’d be hard pressed to name another. All the movies I want to see are on DVD now – The Queen, Deja Vu and one other (that I can’t remember right this very second…).

    I wonder if there’s a pattern or cycle to filmmaking. What I mean by that is; are there times when there are a bunch of orignial stories out on the screen, and then that gives way to a lot of remakes, sequels, and book-to-screen interpretations? I wonder if there’s been a study on that kind of thing?


Leave a Reply

Categories

