Posted by: nhfalcon | May 5, 2007

Samson, meet Delilah

I cut my hair this past Wednesday.

“So what?” you say. “I get my hair cut every month or so.”

No, you don’t understand – I CUT my hair.

I’ve had my hair all one length for around twenty years. A length that, when pulled straight back into a ponytail, reached between my shoulder blades.

Now the longest hair on my head might be an inch long or so.

I feel very strange. The back of my neck is cold. It takes half as long to get ready in the morning (not necessarily a bad thing). I put on a shirt or a jacket and reach back to pull my hair out from under the clothing in question and there’s nothing there. I go to pull the hair tie out of my ponytail before I step into the shower and there’s nothing there. I don’t have to comb my hair in the morning. I just step out of the shower and poof! there it is, ready to go.

Very strange…

Why did I do it? Well, I’ve just about wrapped up my internship and am getting ready to find a job as a high school social studies teacher. I have been told by my cooperating teacher, my internship coordinator, and several administrators and teachers at the high school I interned at that there are still schools out there that will not hire a man with long hair. Those schools do not have that attitude as official policy or say that to your face, of course, but after your interview is over and you’ve left the building, they will toss your resume into the trash just because your appearance doesn’t meet their standards.

Is that stupid? Of course it is. But, as Patriot head coach Bill Belichick would say, it is what it is. That’s the reality of the situation, and I don’t have to like it, I just have to deal with it. If I were single and childless, I would probably have the attitude of “f#*k them, then. I wouldn’t want to work for somebody that narrow-minded, anyway.” I do have a wife and child, however, and my primary responsibility is to them, not to myself. So, in order to keep as many doors open as possible, I have shorn my Fabio-like locks.

I will grow my hair back, btw. My understanding is that, after I get a teaching job, I have to keep my nose clean for three years. Within those three years, I can be let go and the school does not have to give a reason why. After those three years, however, if a school wants to get rid of me, they have to have a good reason, and “he has long hair” does not qualify as a good reason (in fact, it would be an illegal reason and I could sue them for discrimination).

So, get back to me in 2010. 🙂  

Responses

  1. You know, I’ve been trying to picture what you look like ever since Bowyer told me the story (yeah, he got to me before you posted this…), and I just can’t do it. You should come over next weekend so I can check it out.

    I’m SOOO pissed off that I can’t come to your colloquium. Gah! Kick ass, and know that I’m rooting for you in spirit, even if I can’t be there…

  2. Next weekend sounds good to me Mrs. C., so long as I have the time off from work. I’ll get back to you via e-mail as soon as I know my schedule.

    I would’ve liked you to be at the colloquium, too, but c’est la vie! Bowyer should be there, and I’m sure he’ll give you the blow-by-blow if I don’t get to you first. 🙂

  3. I don’t even know you anymore. Nope, I don’t.

    [Actually, that is pretty much a true statement, it has been a long time since I have “seen” you]


Leave a Reply

Categories

