Posted by: nhfalcon | January 20, 2007

A Win – Win Weekend

So tomorrow are the National Football League championship games. The winners of these two games will go on to play in the Super Bowl. The American Football Conference game has the New England Patriots playing the Indianapolis Colts. The National Football Conference games has the Chicago Bears playing the New Orleans Saints.

I find myself realizing that I’ll be happy no matter who wins these games. I’m an Atlanta Falcons fan (spare me the agony of asking me why, please 🙂 ), so my level of favoritism is reduced right off the bat. Nevertheless, here’s why I’ll be happy if any of these teams win:

I’ve lived in New England all my life (either Maine or New Hampshire), so I’ll obviously be happy if the home team wins.

I’m a big Peyton Manning (the quarterback for the Colts) fan. He’s immensely talented, smart, and a class act. But his critics have ripped him from Day One for never winning “the Big One,” so if the Colts win tomorrow and then win the Super Bowl, maybe they’ll all shut up and Manning will get his due.

Cookiemaker is from Chicago, so she’s a Bears fan, so my household will be a happier one if the Bears win. Maybe even happy enough for a little, ah… “nocturnal recreation?” 🙂

It would be great to see the Saints win, even though they’re the Falcons’ archrival, because of what the city of New Orleans has gone through, and continues to go through, since Katrina. Not that winning the NFC championship would solve New Orleans’ problems, but at least it would give the people in that city a reason to smile.

Good Luck to all of the teams tomorrow. 

Responses

  1. I did not know that Cookiemaker is from Chicago. I bet I DO know, though, that she’s not so jazzed about football that a Bears win will equal a win for YOU later…. Sorry, Buddy, but you’re going to have to work a little harder than that…

    I agree with you about the Colts, though I feel like a traitor for saying it. I’m really hoping the Pats win, but if they don’t, I’m TOTALLY rooting for the Colts in the Super Bowl. I, too, think Peyton Manning is a class act (and I LOVE his MasterCard commercial) and hope, if WE can’t have a crack at another Super Bowl win, HE gets a chance at it – and NAILS it….


Leave a Reply

Categories

