Posted by: nhfalcon | January 18, 2007

Picky, Picky…

So I’m on IMDb.com last night – a great website, btw (I should add it to my blog roll, now that I think about it) – and I wind up looking at Finding Nemo, a favorite of Little Man’s and Mrs. Chili’s.

You can find out a lot of things about movies at IMDb.com: cast listings, trivia, goofs, etc… Here’s one of the goofs I saw for Nemo

“When Mr. Ray sings his “Let’s Name the Species” song, he isn’t actually naming species. Porifera, Coelenterata, Ctenophora, Bryozoa, Arthropoda, Echinodermata, and Chordata are all phyla. Hydrozoa, Scyphozoa, and Anthozoa are classes in the phylum Cnidaria (Coelenterata), and Gastropoda is a class in the phylum Mollusca. The order of classification is: kingdom, phylum, class, order, family, genus, species. Phyla and classes are definitely not the same as species.”

Um, buddy, do you really think the target audience cares? Sheesh!

This is the kind of thinkg I could see Bowyer doing, right, Mrs. C.? 🙂
 

Responses

  1. Oh, yeah; I can TOTALLY see Bowyer picking up on that. Hell, I never gave it a second thought – and I still love the movie.

  2. One of the classic moments in my friendship with Bowyer came on a Super Bowl Sunday when Budweiser was still using the lizards ad campaign (GREAT ads! So much better than that “whassup?” bs). An ad comes on and when it’s almost over Bowyer comments that he doesn’t think the lizards’ (which are chameleons, btw) eyes move like that. To which our mutual friend Celtic Writer replies “But you’re ok with them talking?” 🙂

    May just be the only time I’ve seen Bowyer speechless!


Leave a Reply

Categories

