Posted by: nhfalcon | January 17, 2007

Things About Me…

I’m asthmatic.

 

I have astigmatism.

 

I’ve been a writer for a magazine (now defunct) that covered the NFL Draft, a romance novel cover model, and a strip club DJ.

 

Despite living all my life in Maine or New Hampshire, I’ve never been skiing.

While we’re at it, I can barely ice skate (or roller skate, for that matter). In fact, I hate winter! I hate the cold, the lousy driving conditions, the snow (unless it’s Christmas Eve / Day), and I can’t stand hockey. The only thing winter is good for is Christmas. 

The Lord of the Rings is my favorite book, and Peter Jackson’s films based on them are my favorite movies (though I do think he could have done a more faithful interpretation of the books).

 

Despite being a huge football fan, I’m quite the geek. I like role-playing games (Dungeons & Dragons and the like), video games (SOCOM: US Navy SEALs, Syphon Filter, Splinter Cell, Pools of Radiance, and the Madden series are particular favorites of mine), reading about military special operations units and their weaponry and equipment and tactics, and reading about such obscure things as squid and octopus, sperm whales, sharks, dinosaurs, birds of prey, and certain crypto-zoological phenomena like Nessie and Bigfoot.

 

I do believe in Nessie and Bigfoot. I don’t know what they are, but I do believe they exist. I also believe in extraterrestrials.

 

I cannot speak even one foreign language.

 

I’ve only been out of the country once, to England on my honeymoon. I cannot get back to England soon enough. I’d also like to go to Australia and Rio de Janeiro before I die.

 

I hate the city of Boston. The driving sucks, and the sports fans are rude, drunk, and obnoxious. I will never take my son to a sporting event in
Massachusetts! If he decides he wants to see a baseball game, Manchester, NH, Nashua, NH, and Portland, ME all have minor league teams. If he wants to see football, UNH is minutes from home and Manchester has an Arena League 2 team. Hockey? Manchester and Portland have minor league teams. Basketball? UNH. ‘Nuff said.

 

On the flip side, I love London, really like Portland, ME and Burlington, VT, can tolerate Manhattan, and thought Memphis and Tampa Bay were pretty cool.

The strangest thing I’ve ever eaten is alligator tail. As much as I hate to say it, it did taste like chicken (much stringier, though).

My favorite type of music is 80’s hair metal. Whitesnake, Dokken, Van Halen, etc… That being said, I can appreciate good music regardless of style. I have Elton John and Billy Joel in my CD collection, a number of country MP3’s (much to Cookiemaker’s amazement), have come to like Lorenna McKennit and Enya thanks to Cookiemaker, and will even cop to owning stuff from Yanni and John Tesh (I quote Jacques from Finding Nemo: “I am ashamed!”).

 

Somewhere in my family (I think my uncle may have it) is a baseball autographed by the entire 1975 Boston Red Sox.

 

I have studied the medieval martial art of the European longsword. It is incredibly fascinating how knights and men-at-arms fought with these weapons – not even close to the crap that Hollywood shows us. When I become a teacher and have a more predictable schedule, I hope Bowyer and I can practice and study on a far more regular basis.

more as questions are asked or useless trivia comes to mind…

Responses

  1. I’m with you on the winter thing – I’ve never been skiing, either – though I disagree about hating Boston (I will, however, concede to the general state of Massachusetts’ sports fans’ manners).

  2. This is why I’ll NEVER take my son to a game in Massachusetts:

    http://www.boston.com/news/local/articles/2007/01/19/roughing_the_spectator/

    Are you frickin’ kidding me?!

  3. John Tesh? Oh dear.


Leave a Reply

Categories

